Air

Stock photo of plane

The TSB investigates civil aviation occurrences that take place in or over Canada and any place that is under Canadian air traffic control. It also investigates occurrences anywhere in the world that involved an aircraft in respect of which or that was operated by a person to whom a Canadian aviation document had been issued under Part I of the Aeronautics Act.

Every year, about 250 aviation accidents and 800 aviation incidents in Canada are reported to the TSB. It can also be involved in the investigation of some 200 international occurrences in the course of a year as well.

In 2011, civilian flights in Canada (not including ultralights, gliders, balloons, etc.) represented an estimated 3,966,000 hours of flying activity. There has been a significant downward trend in accident rates (the number of accidents per 100 000 flying hours) in the last decade, from 7.0 in 2002 to 5.7 in 2011.

The TSB's Air investigators are certified as pilots, aircraft maintenance engineers, air traffic controllers, and airworthiness engineers. They all have varied and extensive experience in the aviation industry. As well as conducting investigations, they participate in national and international government and industry groups to monitor safety trends and communicate safety issues to change agents.

Air

french alt text

Le BST mène des enquêtes sur les événements d'aviation civile qui se produisent sur le territoire et dans l'espace aérien canadiens, et à tout endroit sous contrôle de circulation aérienne canadien. Il fait également des enquêtes sur tous les évéments à l'étranger qui mettent en cause un appareil pour lequel des documents on été émis en vertu de la Loi sur l'aéronautique, ou une personne qui a reçu un document canadien d'aviation en vertu de la même loi.

Chaque année, environ 250 accidents d'aviation et 800 incidents d'aviation au Canada sont signalés au BST. De plus, l'organisme peut participer aux enquêtes sur quelque 200 événements internationaux au cours d'une année.

En 2011, l'aviation civile au Canada (à l'exclusion des ultra-légers, des planeurs, des montgolfières, etc.) a effectué environ 3 966 000 heures d'activités de vol. Une tendance à la baisse considérable dans le taux d'accidents (nombre d'accidents par 100 000 heures de vol) a été observée durant la dernière décennie, ce dernier passant de 7,0 en 2002 à 5,7 en 2011.

Les enquêteurs en aviation du BST possèdent diverses qualifications, et sont certifiés en tant que pilotes, mécaniciens d'entretien d'aéronefs, contrôleurs aériens ou ingénieurs en navigabilité. Ils ont tous une grande expérience de l'industrie aéronautique. En plus d'effectuer des enquêtes, ils prennent part aux activités de groupes de gouvernement et de l'industrie, au pays et ailleurs, pour suivre les tendances en sécurité et communiquer les problèmes de sécurité aux parties intéressées.