Rail transportation safety investigation report R19M0028

Associated links

Crossing accident
Canadian National Railway Company
Train A40711-29
Mile 27.73, Bedford Subdivision
Oakfield, Nova Scotia

The Transportation Safety Board of Canada (TSB) investigated this occurrence for the purpose of advancing transportation safety. It is not the function of the Board to assign fault or determine civil or criminal liability. This report is not created for use in the context of legal, disciplinary or other proceedings. See Ownership and use of content.

The occurrence

On 29 July 2019, Canadian National Railway Company (CN) freight train A40711-29 was travelling northeast on the CN Bedford Subdivision. The train comprised 2 head-end locomotives and 25 cars, weighed approximately 1595 tons, and was about 2315 feet long. The train crew consisted of a locomotive engineer and a conductor. Both crew members were qualified for their respective positions and met rest and fitness requirements.

At approximately 1135,Footnote 1 the train approached the private crossing at Mile 27.73 in Oakfield, Nova Scotia, at a speed of 51 mph. The lead locomotive headlights were on full power and its ditch lights were activated. The locomotive horn was not activated, and there is no requirement for trains to whistle at the approach to private crossings. At about the same time, a passenger vehicle with 2 occupants travelling southward on Christopher King Lane was approaching the crossing at a speed of approximately 20 km/h (Figure 1).

Figure 1. Map of occurrence location, showing the vehicle and train directions of travel, with inset image showing the stop sign for vehicles travelling southward on Christopher King Lane (Source: Google Maps, with TSB annotations)
 Map of occurrence location, showing the vehicle and train directions of travel, with inset image showing the stop sign for vehicles travelling southward on Christopher King Lane (Source: Google Maps, with TSB annotations)

Both road approaches to the crossing have a stop sign secured to the wooden post for the standard railway crossing sign (SRCS). The vehicle, with its windows closed, proceeded onto the crossing without stopping at the stop sign. At 1136:03, upon observing the vehicle, the locomotive engineer activated the head-end locomotive horn. One second later, the train collided with the vehicle at the crossing, striking the front passenger side and pushing the vehicle down an embankment where it overturned. The train brakes were placed into emergency about 2 seconds after the collision. The train came to a complete stop approximately 1 minute later, after having travelled about 1690 feet.

The vehicle driver sustained serious injuries and was airlifted to a hospital for treatment. The vehicle passenger sustained minor injuries and was transported to the local hospital by ambulance. The train crew members were not injured.

At the time of the occurrence, the weather was 27 °C, partly cloudy, with good visibility.

Track and subdivision information

The CN Bedford Subdivision is a single main track that extends from Halifax, Nova Scotia (Mile 0.0), to Truro, Nova Scotia (Mile 64.0). Train movements are controlled by the centralized traffic control system from Mile 5.0 to Mile 64.0 and are supervised by a CN rail traffic controller in Montréal, Quebec.

In the occurrence area, train traffic consisted of about 10 freight trains per day and about 6 VIA Rail Canada Inc. (VIA) passenger trains per week. The track is maintained to a Class 4 standard, in accordance with the Transport Canada (TC)–approved Rules Respecting Track Safety. The authorized track speed near the occurrence area is 55 mph for freight trains and 65 mph for passenger trains.

Grade Crossings Regulations and Grade Crossings Standards

The TC Grade Crossings Regulations (GCR) and Grade Crossings Standards (GCS), which came into force in November 2014, apply to all newly built crossings. Existing crossings must be updated to comply with selected provisions in the GCR and GCS by 28 November 2021. Both the GCR and GCS were last amended in January 2019. These amendments, which came into force in March 2019, clarify some of the provisions and make them easier to follow.

Section 6 of the GCS sets out the road geometry provisions for grade crossings and road approaches.

Concerning road approaches to private grade crossings, the GCS specify a maximum gradient of 2% within 8 m of the nearest rail and 10% for 10 m beyond.Footnote 2 Although all newly constructed private grade crossings are required to meet these standards, and existing private crossings are required to meet certain provisions of the standards, such as crossing sightlines, the maximum gradient for road approaches does not retroactively apply to existing private crossings.

Figure 2. Standard railway crossing sign and stop sign (Source: TSB)
 Figure 2. Standard railway crossing sign and stop sign (Source: TSB)

The maintenance of private grade crossings is a shared responsibility between the railway and the owner of the private crossing (private authority). As stated in CN’s standard practice circulars, the railway is responsible for the maintenance of the crossing surface up to 18 inches (46 cm) beyond the outside rails. The railway is also responsible for sightlines and signage, as outlined in the GCR. The private authority, according to the GCR, must ensure compliance with the requirements of the regulations for the road approach outside the railway right-of-way.

Grade crossing protection measures

Grade crossings can be equipped with different types of protection systems. These include automated warning systemsFootnote 3 and passive signs. Although not required under the GCR, some private grade crossings are equipped with a stop sign, an SRCS, and a private crossing sign (Figure 2). Vehicles approaching such crossings are expected to perform a full stop at the crossing and to proceed only when it is safe to do so.

Private crossing at Christopher King Lane

At the private crossing (Mile 27.73), the road south of the crossing (North Fork Road) is a provincial road, while the road north of the crossing (Christopher King Lane) is a single-lane private gravel road that leads to 7 residences. Christopher King Lane traverses the railway track at approximately 90 degrees. The crossing surface is made up of wood planks. Passive warning signs (reflectorized SRCS and stop sign) are attached to a wooden post that is positioned 13.5 feet south of the centre of the crossing (Figure 3). The crossing surface and reflectorized SRCS meet TC’s applicable regulatory provisions. The speed limit for vehicles in the vicinity of the crossing is 30 km/h.

Figure 3. Crossing surface looking north (Source: Google Maps Street View)
 Crossing surface looking north (Source: Google Maps Street View)

When approaching the crossing, southbound vehicles on Christopher King Lane are required to navigate a curved section of the road that is lined with trees. The road at this approach has an ascending gradient of approximately 13% within 8 m of the nearest rail (Figure 4). As this crossing is equipped with a stop sign, the sightlines along the railway right-of-way (measured from the stop position) meet TC’s regulatory requirements.

Figure 4. Southward approach to crossing (Source: TSB)
 Southward approach to crossing (Source: TSB)

During site examination, it was noted that after southbound vehicles stop at the crossing, some vehicles had difficulty pulling away due to the presence of gravel and the road’s gradient. In the winter, the presence of snow and ice could further exacerbate this situation.

Crossing accidents

There are approximately 14 000 public and 9000 private grade crossings along over 26 000 miles of federally regulated rail lines in Canada. From 2009 to 2018, there were 1706 crossing accidents on federally regulated railways in Canada, resulting in 222 fatalities and 264 serious injuries. Of these 1706 accidents, 255 occurred at private crossings that were protected using passive warning signs. Of these 255 occurrences, there were 11 fatalities and 19 serious injuries.Footnote 4

Public awareness programs for rail safety

Railways, regulators, and law enforcement agencies participate in railway safety awareness programs. Operation Lifesaver is a not-for-profit organization (funded by the Railway Association of Canada and TC) that works with the rail industry, governments, law enforcement, labour groups, the media, and many public organizations and community groups to raise awareness about rail safety. Operation Lifesaver’s goal is to create safety-conscious attitudes toward railways, promote safe driving skills, and encourage Canadians to adhere to railway signs and warnings. Operation Lifesaver delivers safety presentations to schools, youth clubs, drivers’ associations, and other community groups to raise awareness about the hazards associated with railway tracks and trains.

In addition to supporting Operation Lifesaver, TC has a Rail Safety Improvement Program to improve safety at grade crossings and along rail lines and to increase public confidence in Canada’s rail transportation system. TC’s Rail Safety Improvement Program helps achieve this by making funding available to eligible recipients, including private crossing owners.Footnote 5 However, the majority of the applications for this funding are for public crossings.

With approximately 9000 private crossings along federally regulated rail lines in Canada,Footnote 6 it is important for railways and private crossing owners to consider the effect of roadway grade, curvature, surface, and sightlines on the ability to comply safely with crossing signage, or to consider adding grade crossing warning systems.

Previous occurrences at the Christopher King Lane crossing

Since 2012, 2 other occurrences at this crossing have been reported to the TSB:

  • R12M0001 – On 23 January 2012, VIA train 14-22 struck the trailer portion of a tractor-trailer that had become stuck on the crossing. No injuries were reported. Following this occurrence, warning signs for low-body trailers were installed at the south approach to the crossing.
  • R18M0032 – On 26 October 2018, CN train L51111-26 struck the front bumper of a pickup truck that had stopped too close to the crossing. No injuries were reported.

Safety message

To ensure safety at private grade crossings that are protected by passive stop signs, it is important that all motor vehicle drivers obey posted traffic signs.

In addition, the physical design of private grade crossings, including their road approaches, plays a role in enabling motorists to navigate these crossings safely.

This report concludes the Transportation Safety Board of Canada’s investigation into this occurrence. The Board authorized the release of this report on 22 January 2020. It was officially released on 07 February 2020.

This report is the result of an investigation into a class 4 occurrence. See the Policy on Occurrence Classification.

Date de modification :

Rapport d’enquête sur la sécurité du transport ferroviaire R19M0028

Lien connexe

Accident à un passage à niveau
Compagnie des chemins de fer nationaux du Canada
Train A40711-29
Point milliaire 27,73, subdivision de Bedford
Oakfield (Nouvelle-Écosse)



Le Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) a enquêté sur cet événement dans le but de promouvoir la sécurité des transports. Le Bureau n’est pas habilité à attribuer ni à déterminer les responsabilités civiles ou pénales. Le présent rapport n’est pas créé pour être utilisé dans le contexte d’une procédure judiciaire, disciplinaire ou autre. Voir Propriété et utilisation du contenu.

L'événement

Le 29 juillet 2019, le train de marchandises A40711-29 de la Compagnie des chemins de fer nationaux du Canada (CN) roulait vers le nord-est dans la subdivision de Bedford du CN. Il était composé de 2 locomotives de tête et de 25 wagons, pesait approximativement 1595 tonnes et mesurait environ 2315 pieds de long. L’équipe de train était formée d’un mécanicien de locomotive et d’un chef de train. Les deux membres de l’équipe étaient qualifiés pour leurs postes respectifs et satisfaisaient aux exigences en matière de repos et de condition physique.

Vers 11 h 35Note de bas de page 1, le train approchait du passage à niveau privé au point milliaire 27,73, à Oakfield (Nouvelle-Écosse), à une vitesse de 51 mi/h. Les phares avant de la locomotive de tête étaient réglés à leur pleine intensité, et les phares de fossé étaient allumés. Le klaxon de la locomotive n’a pas été actionné, et il n’est pas obligatoire pour les trains d’utiliser le sifflet à l’approche d’un passage à niveau privé. À peu près au même moment, un véhicule de promenade avec 2 occupants qui se dirigeait vers le sud sur le chemin Christopher King approchait du passage à niveau à une vitesse d’environ 20 km/h (figure 1).

Figure 1. Carte du lieu de l’événement à l’étude indiquant le sens de la marche du train et du véhicule, avec une image insérée montrant le panneau d’arrêt pour les véhicules en direction sud sur le chemin Christopher King (Source : Google Maps, avec annotations du BST)
Carte du lieu de l’événement à l’étude indiquant le sens de la marche du train et du véhicule, avec une image insérée montrant le panneau d’arrêt pour les véhicules en direction sud sur le chemin Christopher King (Source : Google Maps, avec annotations du BST)

Les deux abords routiers du passage à niveau sont munis d’un panneau d’arrêt fixé au poteau de bois du panneau indicateur de passage à niveau standard. Le véhicule, dont les vitres étaient fermées, s’est engagé sur le passage à niveau sans s’arrêter au panneau d’arrêt. À 11 h 36 min 3 s, en voyant le véhicule, le mécanicien de locomotive a fait retentir le klaxon de la locomotive de tête. Une seconde plus tard, le train a percuté le véhicule au passage à niveau, heurtant le côté passager avant et poussant le véhicule sur un remblai où il a capoté. Le mécanicien de locomotive a serré d’urgence les freins du train environ 2 secondes après la collision. Le train s’est immobilisé environ 1 minute plus tard, 1690 pieds plus loin.

Le conducteur du véhicule a été grièvement blessé et a été transporté à l’hôpital par voie aérienne. Le passager du véhicule a été légèrement blessé et a été conduit à l’hôpital par ambulance. Aucun membre de l’équipe de train n’a été blessé.

Au moment de l’événement, la température était de 27 °C, le ciel était partiellement nuageux et la visibilité était bonne.

Renseignements sur la voie et la subdivision

La subdivision de Bedford du CN est formée d’une voie principale simple qui s’étend de Halifax, en Nouvelle-Écosse (point milliaire 0,0), à Truro, en Nouvelle-Écosse (point milliaire 64,0). Les mouvements de trains sont régis par le système de commande centralisée de la circulation, du point milliaire 5,0 au point milliaire 64,0 et sont supervisés par un contrôleur de la circulation ferroviaire du CN en poste à Montréal, au Québec.

Dans la zone de l’événement à l’étude, le trafic ferroviaire correspond à environ 10 trains de marchandises par jour et environ 6 trains de voyageurs de VIA Rail Canada inc. (VIA Rail) par semaine. La voie est maintenue selon les normes de la catégorie 4, conformément au Règlement concernant la sécurité de la voie de Transports Canada (TC). La vitesse limite autorisée près du lieu de l’événement est de 55 mi/h pour les trains de marchandises et de 65 mi/h pour les trains de voyageurs.

Règlement sur les passages à niveau et Normes sur les passages à niveau

Le Règlement sur les passages à niveau (RPN) et les Normes sur les passages à niveau (NPN) de TC, qui sont entrés en vigueur en novembre 2014, s’appliquent à tous les passages à niveau nouvellement construits. Les passages à niveau existants devront être modifiés pour être conformes à certaines dispositions du RPN et des NPN d’ici le 28 novembre 2021. Les dernières modifications du RPN et des NPN datent de janvier 2019. Ces modifications, qui sont entrées en vigueur en mars 2019, clarifient certaines dispositions et font en sorte qu’il soit plus facile de s’y conformer.

L’article 6 des NPN décrit les dispositions relatives à la géométrie routière des passages à niveau et de leurs abords routiers.

En ce qui concerne les abords routiers des passages à niveau privés, les NPN prescrivent une déclivité maximale de 2 % dans un rayon de 8 m du rail le plus proche, et de 10 % sur les 10 m suivantsNote de bas de page 2. Bien que tous les passages à niveau privés nouvellement construits doivent respecter ces normes et que les passages à niveau privés existants doivent se conformer à certaines dispositions des normes, notamment celles qui concernent les lignes de visibilité, la nouvelle déclivité maximale des abords routiers ne s’applique pas de manière rétroactive aux passages à niveau privés.

L’entretien des passages à niveau privés est une responsabilité partagée par leurs propriétaires (autorités privées) et les compagnies de chemin de fer. Selon les Circulaires sur les méthodes normalisées du CN, la compagnie de chemin de fer est tenue d’entretenir la surface de croisement jusqu’à 18 pouces (46 cm) au-delà des rails extérieurs. Elle est également responsable des lignes de visibilité et des panneaux, comme l’indique le RPN. L’autorité privée, selon le RPN, doit veiller à la conformité au règlement de l’abord routier à l’extérieur des limites de l’emprise du chemin de fer.

Figure 2. Panneau indicateur de passage à niveau standard et panneau d’arrêt (Source : BST)
Panneau indicateur de passage à niveau standard et panneau d’arrêt (Source : BST)

Mesures de protection des passages à niveau

Les passages à niveau peuvent être équipés de différents types de système de protection, notamment des systèmes d’avertissement automatisésNote de bas de page 3 et des systèmes de signalisation passifs (panneaux). Bien que le RPN ne l’exige pas, certains passages à niveau privés sont équipés d’un panneau d’arrêt, d’un panneau indicateur de passage à niveau standard et d’un panneau indicateur de passage à niveau privé (figure 2). À l’approche des passages à niveau de ce type, les véhicules doivent s’immobiliser et ne traverser le passage à niveau que lorsqu’il est sécuritaire de le faire.

Passage à niveau privé du chemin Christopher King

Au passage à niveau privé (point milliaire 27,73), la route au sud du passage à niveau (route North Fork) est une route provinciale, tandis que celle au nord du passage à niveau (chemin Christopher King) est une route de gravier privée à une seule voie menant à 7 résidences. Le chemin Christopher King croise la voie ferrée à un angle d’environ 90 degrés. La surface de croisement est composée de planches de bois. Des panneaux indicateurs passifs (panneau indicateur de passage à niveau standard et panneau d’arrêt réfléchissants) sont fixés à un poteau de bois situé à 13,5 pieds au sud du centre du passage à niveau (figure 3). La surface de croisement et le panneau indicateur de passage à niveau standard réfléchissant satisfont aux exigences réglementaires pertinentes de TC. La vitesse limite pour les véhicules à proximité du passage à niveau est de 30 km/h.

Figure 3. Vue vers le nord de la surface de croisement (Source : Google Maps Street View)
Vue vers le nord de la surface de croisement (Source : Google Maps Street View)

À l’approche du passage à niveau, les véhicules roulant vers le sud sur le chemin Christopher King doivent suivre une courbe bordée d’arbres. Cet abord routier présente une pente ascendante d’environ 13 % dans un rayon de 8 m du rail le plus proche (figure 4). Comme ce passage à niveau est muni d’un panneau d’arrêt, les lignes de visibilité le long de l’emprise ferroviaire (mesurées à partir de la position d’arrêt) satisfont aux exigences réglementaires de TC.

Figure 4. Abord en direction sud du passage à niveau (Source : BST)
Abord en direction sud du passage à niveau (Source : BST)

Au cours de l’examen des lieux, on a noté qu’après s’être immobilisés avant le passage à niveau, certains véhicules en direction sud avaient de la difficulté à repartir en raison de la présence de gravier et de la pente de la route. En hiver, la neige et la glace pourraient aggraver la situation.

Accidents à des passages à niveau

Il y a approximativement 14 000 passages à niveau publics et 9000 passages à niveau privés sur les plus de 26 000 milles de voies ferrées régies par le gouvernement fédéral au Canada. De 2009 à 2018, il s’est produit 1706 accidents aux passages à niveau des chemins de fer sous réglementation fédérale au Canada; ces accidents ont entraîné 222 pertes de vie et 264 blessures graves. Sur ces 1706 accidents, 255 sont survenus à des passages à niveau privés protégés par des panneaux indicateurs passifs. Ces 255 événements ont entraîné 11 pertes de vie et 19 blessures gravesNote de bas de page 4.

Programmes de sensibilisation du public à la sécurité ferroviaire

Les compagnies de chemin de fer, les organismes de réglementation et les organismes d’application de la loi participent aux programmes de sensibilisation du public à la sécurité ferroviaire. Opération Gareautrain est un organisme à but non lucratif (financé par l’Association des chemins de fer du Canada [ACFC] et par TC) qui fait de la sensibilisation sur la sécurité ferroviaire en collaboration avec le secteur ferroviaire, les gouvernements, les organismes d’application de la loi, les syndicats, les médias, et plusieurs organismes publics et groupes communautaires. L’Opération Gareautrain a pour objectif de favoriser des attitudes axées sur la sécurité à l’égard des voies ferrées, de promouvoir la sécurité au volant ainsi que d’encourager les Canadiens à tenir compte des signaux et avertissements ferroviaires. Opération Gareautrain fait des présentations dans les écoles, clubs de jeunesse, associations de conducteurs et autres groupes communautaires afin de susciter une prise de conscience à l’égard des dangers associés aux voies ferrées et aux trains.

En plus de soutenir Opération Gareautrain, TC a mis sur pied le Programme d’amélioration de la sécurité ferroviaire, dans le but d’accroître la sécurité aux passages à niveau et le long des voies ferrées et de renforcer la confiance de la population à l’égard du réseau de transport ferroviaire du Canada. À cette fin, le Programme d’amélioration de la sécurité ferroviaire de TC offre un financement à ceux y ayant droit, y compris les propriétaires de passages à niveau privésNote de bas de page 5. Toutefois, la majorité des demandes de financement portent sur des passages à niveau publics.

Il y a approximativement 9000 passages à niveau privés le long des voies ferrées régies par le gouvernement fédéralNote de bas de page 6; il est donc important que les compagnies de chemin de fer et les propriétaires de passage à niveau privé tiennent compte des effets de la pente, de la courbure et de la surface des abords routiers, ainsi que de leurs lignes de visibilité, sur la capacité de se conformer sans danger aux indications des panneaux des passages à niveau ou qu’ils envisagent l’ajout de systèmes d’avertissement de passage à niveau.

Événements survenus antérieurement au passage à niveau du chemin Christopher King

Depuis 2012, 2 autres événements survenus à ce passage à niveau ont été signalés au BST :

  • R12M0001 – Le 23 janvier 2012, le train 14-22 de VIA Rail a heurté la remorque d’un camion à semi-remorque qui était coincée sur le passage à niveau. Aucune blessure n’a été signalée. À la suite de cet événement, des panneaux d’avertissement pour les remorques surbaissées ont été installés à l’abord sud du passage à niveau.
  • R18M0032 – Le 26 octobre 2018, le train L51111-26 du CN a heurté le pare-chocs avant d’une camionnette qui s’était immobilisée trop près du passage à niveau. Aucune blessure n’a été signalée.

Messages de sécurité

Pour assurer la sécurité aux passages à niveau privés qui sont protégés par des panneaux d’arrêt passifs, il est important que les conducteurs des véhicules automobiles obéissent aux consignes des panneaux indicateurs.

En outre, la conception physique des passages à niveau privés, et notamment de leurs abords routiers, contribue à assurer la sécurité des automobilistes à ces passages à niveau.

Le présent rapport conclut l’enquête du Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada sur cet événement. Le Bureau a autorisé la publication de ce rapport le 22 janvier 2020. Il a été officiellement publié le 7 février 2020.



Ce rapport est le résultat d'une enquête sur un événement de catégorie 4. Voir la Politique de classification des événements.

Date de modification :