Air transportation safety investigation report A19W0099

Associated links

Mid-air collision
Cu Nim Gliding Club
Cessna 182N, C-FPZE and Cu Nim Gliding Club
Schleicher ASK 21 (glider), C-FLTY
Black Diamond/Cu Nim Aerodrome, Alberta, 0.5 NM SW

The Transportation Safety Board of Canada (TSB) investigated this occurrence for the purpose of advancing transportation safety. It is not the function of the Board to assign fault or determine civil or criminal liability. This report is not created for use in the context of legal, disciplinary or other proceedings. See Ownership and use of content.

History of the flight

On 26 July 2019, the Cu Nim Gliding Club Cessna 182N aircraft (registration C-FPZE, serial number 18260067) (the tow plane) was conducting aerotow operations at Black Diamond/Cu Nim Aerodrome (CEH2), Alberta. The Cu Nim Gliding Club Schleicher ASK 21 glider (registration C-FLTY, serial number 21852) was being used for instructional flights with an instructor and student on board.

The tow plane pilot involved in the occurrence had completed 2 aerotow operations before the occurrence flight, the first of which had departed at 1510.Footnote 1

The occurrence glider flight was the 2nd flight of the day for the student and flight instructor involved in the occurrence. The 1st instructional flight had been completed at approximately 1030.

At 1549, the tow plane departed Runway 07 with the glider in tow and turned to the south while climbing to the intended release altitude of 5700 feet above sea level (ASL) (2000 feet above ground).

Around the time the aircraft crossed the extended centreline of Runway 07, the glider flight crew radioed the tow plane pilot and requested that he carry out some medium bank turns as part of the glider towing exercise. This was not briefed prior to departure. At this point, the tow plane was at approximately 5900 feet ASL. The tow plane completed a medium (approximately 30° bank) left turn of about 145°, which brought both aircraft over approximately midfield of CEH2, followed by a medium (approximately 30° bank) right turn of about 90°, which brought the aircraft to a track of 305° true (T) near the western edge of CEH2, at approximately 6100 feet ASL. The glider released from the towline halfway through this turn.

Typically, a glider pilot will release from the towline when the 2 aircraft are in straight and level flight. When the tow plane reached the anticipated release point, the glider had already released; however, the tow plane pilot was not aware. Shortly after, the glider flight crew called the tow plane pilot on the radio to thank him for the tow. The tow plane pilot could not see the glider but executed a left clearing turn of approximately 80°, as is standard procedureFootnote 2 upon glider release. He did not initiate a descent at this point, but did begin preparing the aircraft for the approach and landing at CEH2.

Because the pilot of the tow plane could not see the glider, he entered a slight right turnin an effort to find the glider. This brought the tow plane to a track of 270°T. Still unable to see the glider, the tow plane pilot then proceeded to complete a 90° left turn, heading almost directly south. There was no attempt to communicate with the glider to determine its position.

When the glider released from the tow plane, halfway through the second medium turn at an altitude of approximately 6100 feet ASL, the glider flight crew proceeded to fly more or less on a track of 270°T. By releasing in a right turn, the glider was not in a position where the tow pilot would normally expect to see it, i.e., behind and to the right of the tow plane (Figure 1).

At 1555, when the aircraft were 0.5 nautical miles (NM) southwest of the threshold of Runway 07 and at an altitude of approximately 6075 feet ASL, the tow plane’s propeller struck the glider’s empennage. The time between the glider release and the collision was 34 seconds.

When the tow plane struck the glider, the vertical and horizontal stabilizers separated from the glider. The glider entered a dive from which it was unable to recover and struck terrain in a near-vertical attitude. The student pilot and instructor were fatally injured. Both were wearing parachutes at the time of the occurrence.

Figure 1. Overview of the tow plane and glider’s flight paths, with inset diagram showing the positions of the aircraft at the time of the collision (Source: TSB)
Overview of the tow plane and glider’s flight paths, with inset diagram showing the positions of the aircraft at the time of the collision (Source: TSB)

The tow plane sustained substantial damage to the propeller and cowling, and minor damage to the right wing. The pilot was not injured and managed to perform a successful forced landing at idle power on Runway 14 at 1557.

Wreckage information

The glider impacted terrain in a near-vertical attitude, 0.61 NM west-southwest of the intersection of Runways 07/25 and 14/32 at CEH2, at an elevation of 3790 feet ASL. Both the left- and right-wing leading edges showed signs of impact damage along most of their length. The aircraft was destroyed in the collision with terrain.

The vertical stabilizer was found approximately 1200 feet northwest of the main accident site. The horizontal stabilizer was found approximately 1600 feet northwest of the main accident site and showed signs of paint transfer from the tow plane’s propeller. The rudder and elevator were not found. Fiberglass material from the glider was found embedded in the tow plane’s propeller.

Pilot information

The pilot of the tow plane held a valid private pilot licence, a valid pilot licence - glider, and a valid flight instructor rating - glider. He was a volunteer with the Cu Nim Gliding Club and held the position of chief tow pilot within the organization. He had accumulated approximately 740 flight-time hours in single-engine aircraft. He completed an annual tow pilot competency flight on 23 March 2019.

The instructor held a valid pilot licence - glider with a valid flight instructor rating - glider. He was also a volunteer with the Cu Nim Gliding Club. The last entry in the instructor’s personal log was made on 01 July 2019. At that time, he had accumulated approximately 900 flight time hours made up of dual, pilot-in-command, and instructional flight time.

The student pilot held a student pilot permit - glider and had begun his flight training with the Cu Nim Gliding Club in 2017. His first instructional flight was logged on 13 July 2017. His first and only solo flight was conducted on 28 October 2018, for a flight time of 0.3 hours. At the time of the occurrence, the student pilot had recorded 76 dual flights, totalling 26.8 hours of dual flight time.

Aircraft information

Tow plane

The Cessna 182N is a single-engine piston, all-aluminium aircraft. The aircraft involved in this occurrence was manufactured in 1970 and was registered to the Cu Nim Gliding Club on 27 February 2015. It was used to tow the club’s gliders for both recreational and instructional flights.

The aircraft was equipped with a PowerFLARM Core airborne collision avoidance system (ACAS).Footnote 3 On the day of the occurrence, the PowerFLARM Core installed on the aircraft was not working. In addition, throughout the 2019 flying season, the following issues with the PowerFLARM had been recorded in the club’s unofficial daily log for the aircraft:

  • “Power Flarm intermittant [sic]” (22 March 2019)
  • “POWER FLARM DISPLAY NOT WORKING” (31 March 2019)
  • “Flarm intermittent => keeps resetting” (19 July 2019)

These defects were not recorded in the aircraft’s journey log, although it was required by the regulations.Footnote 4

Glider

The Schleicher ASK 21 glider is an all-composite 2-seat glider used primarily for conducting instructional flights. The glider involved in this occurrence was manufactured in 2009 and was registered to the Cu Nim Gliding Club on 02 June 2009. The student typically sits in the front seat and the instructor typically sits in the rear seat; this was the seating configuration during this occurrence. The glider was equipped with a PowerFLARM Portable device, which was installed on the instrument panel for the pilot seated in the rear seat. It was reported as working on the day of the occurrence.

Weather information

There is no aerodrome routine meteorological report (METAR) for CEH2. The closest airport that issues METARs is Calgary/Springbank Airport (CYBW), Alberta, which is located approximately 24 NM north-northwest of CEH2. The METAR issued at 1600 indicated the following:

  • winds from 180°T at 12 knots, variable between 120°T and 190°T
  • visibility 9 statute miles and clear
  • temperature 26 °C and dew point 12 °C

Weather and sun position were not considered to be factors in this occurrence.

Defences against a mid-air collision

Visual lookout

As stated in the Transport Canada Aeronautical Information Manual (TC AIM):

When operating in accordance with VFR [visual flight rules], or in accordance with IFR [instrument flight rules] but in VMC [visual meteorological conditions], pilots have sole responsibility for seeing and avoiding other aircraft. Aural and visual alertness are required to enhance safety of flight in the vicinity of uncontrolled aerodromes.Footnote 5

The see-and-avoid principle has been examined in a number of other TSB investigations.Footnote 6 It is the basic method of collision avoidance for VFR flights that is based on active scanning, and the ability to detect conflicting aircraft and take appropriate measures to avoid them. An advisory circular published by the U.S. Federal Aviation Administration states: “Pilots should remain constantly alert to all traffic movement within their field of vision, as well as periodically scanning the entire visual field outside of their aircraft to ensure detection of conflicting traffic.”Footnote 7 The most effective method of identifying potential conflicting traffic is to quickly scan small segments of the visual field (approximately 10° to 15° wide) to detect movement.Footnote 8

Established tow and release procedures

SOAR and learn to fly gliders, published by the Soaring Association of Canada (SAC), provides guidance to glider pilots on flying techniques. The following guidance is provided with respect to releasing from the tow:

When you have reached the release altitude (usually 2000 feet above ground) and before releasing, scan around the horizon for other aircraft, particularly to the right, the direction in which you will be turning. If clear to your right look back at the towrope, pull the release, and visually check that the rope releases and falls clear of the glider. Now initiate a turn to the right. This turn indicates to the towpilot that you have released. At the same time it is usual to adjust your speed to that for the lesson that will follow. More often than not this will be a reduction in speed.Footnote 9

The publication further explains that:

The objective of the glider turning to the right after release is to quickly get clear of the towplane’s slipstream and the dangling rope, but also to move to the side so that the towpilot can see you. The towpilot will not descend until he has assured himself that the glider is free. The turn need be of only a few degrees, though if in a thermal, you may wish to continue circling. However if you do this make sure that the towplane is clear and is descending as you circle around during your first complete turn.Footnote 10

The Cu Nim Gliding Club’s Operations Manual provides the following guidance to tow plane pilots on what to do following the glider’s release:

  • After the Tow Pilot has confirmed that the glider has released by visual check, a descending left hand turn shall be made while the glider executes a right hand turn.Footnote 11

The operations manual states the club’s policies and procedures with respect to various aspects of aircraft operations. The club’s safety manual provides supplemental safety-related information. Both the operations manual and the safety manual state that the club will use the tow and release procedures described in the SAC’s soaring instruction manual.Footnote 12 However, the club does not have a standard procedure in place for tow plane pilots to follow if they lose sight of the glider, or if they are unsure of the glider’s position relative to their own. Nor does the SAC provide any formal guidance material for the tow pilot to follow under these circumstances.

Electronic traffic awareness systems

Both aircraft were equipped with a FLARM ACAS, although this was not required by the regulations. The company describes this technology as follows:

FLARM works by calculating and broadcasting its own future flight path to nearby aircraft. At the same time, it receives the future flight path from surrounding aircraft. An intelligent motion prediction algorithm calculates a collision risk for each aircraft based on an integrated risk model. When a collision is imminent, the pilots are alerted with the relative position of the intruder, enabling them to avoid a collision.Footnote 13

The PowerFLARM Core installed on the tow plane was not working during the day of the accident. As a result, the PowerFLARM Portable installed on the glider would not have provided any traffic information to the flight crew of the glider with respect to the tow plane’s position.

Operational oversight

Transport Canada

Gliding clubs in Canada are not required by the regulations to hold a flight training unit operator certificate, even though they may provide structured training and flight testing, and recommend to Transport Canada (TC) that a student pilot be granted a pilot licence - glider once the training requirements have been met. Because gliding clubs are not required to hold a flight training unit operator certificate, TC does not carry out any surveillance activities on these types of organizations. Therefore, TC had never conducted any form of process validation inspection or audit on the Cu Nim Gliding Club before the occurrence.

Soaring Association of Canada

The SAC is a non-profit amateur sports association promoting, enhancing, and protecting the sport of gliding in Canada. The association consists of several committees staffed by volunteers that address various topics related to the operation of gliders (e.g., flight training and safety, medical, technical, airspace). The association provides support to gliding clubs across the country, primarily in the form of written guidance material and standards that gliding clubs can use in the conduct of normal operations. The SAC has no regulatory authority to create or enforce aviation-related regulations in Canada.

The SAC recommends that gliding clubs perform a safety audit and submit the completed audit form to the association every 3 years. While the SAC does not perform these safety audits, it will provide support if specifically requested by a club. The SAC’s Safety Committee reviews submitted audit forms in an effort to identify any items that may be of concern.

The last safety audit form submitted by the Cu Nim Gliding Club to the SAC had been completed on 15 November 2016. The SAC did not provide any feedback to the club regarding the results of the audit at that time.

Safety messages

In this occurrence, there was no procedure to follow if visual contact was lost after the tow was released. It is important that operators have procedures in place for the safe operation of their aircraft, and that personnel follow those procedures.

Neither pilot saw the other aircraft in time to avoid a mid-air collision, partly owing to the inherent limitations of the see-and-avoid principle. Relying solely on visual detection increases the risk of collision while in uncontrolled airspace. Pilots are encouraged to broadcast their intentions to maintain the situational awareness of other aircraft.

Airborne collision avoidance systems (ACAS) offer the potential to significantly reduce the risk of mid-air collisions. If an aircraft is equipped with an ACAS, it is important that the system be maintained in a serviceable condition.

This report concludes the Transportation Safety Board of Canada’s investigation into this occurrence. The Board authorized the release of this report on It was officially released on

This report is the result of an investigation into a class 4 occurrence. See the Policy on Occurrence Classification.

Date modified:

Rapport d’enquête sur la sécurité du transport aérien A19W0099

Lien connexe

Collision en vol
Cu Nim Gliding Club
Cessna 182N (C-FPZE) et Cu Nim Gliding Club
Schleicher ASK 21 (planeur) (C-FLTY)
Aérodrome Black Diamond/Cu Nim (Alberta), 0,5 NM SW



Le Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) a enquêté sur cet événement dans le but de promouvoir la sécurité des transports. Le Bureau n’est pas habilité à attribuer ni à déterminer les responsabilités civiles ou pénales. Le présent rapport n’est pas créé pour être utilisé dans le contexte d’une procédure judiciaire, disciplinaire ou autre. Voir Propriété et utilisation du contenu.

Déroulement du vol

Le 26 juillet 2019, l’avion remorqueur Cessna 182N (immatriculé C-FPZE, numéro de série 18260067), exploité par le Cu Nim Gliding Club, effectuait du remorquage aérien à l’aérodrome Black Diamond/Cu Nim (CEH2), en Alberta. Le planeur Schleicher ASK 21 (immatriculé C-FLTY, numéro de série 21852) du Cu Nim Gliding Club servait à des vols d’instruction avec un instructeur et un élève-pilote à bord.

Le pilote de l’avion remorqueur dans l’événement à l’étude avait achevé 2 remorquages aériens avant le vol à l’étude, dont le premier avait décollé à 15 h 10Note de bas de page 1.

Le vol en planeur à l’étude était le 2e vol de la journée pour l’élève-pilote et l’instructeur de vol dans l’événement à l’étude. Le 1er vol d’instruction avait pris fin vers 10 h 30.

À 15 h 49, l’avion remorqueur a décollé de la piste 07 avec le planeur en remorque et a viré vers le sud en montant à l’altitude de largage prévue de 5700 pieds au-dessus du niveau de la mer (ASL) (2000 pieds au-dessus du sol).

À peu près au moment où l’avion franchissait le prolongement de l’axe de la piste 07, l’équipage de conduite du planeur a communiqué par radio avec le pilote de l’avion remorqueur pour lui demander d’effectuer des virages à moyenne inclinaison dans le cadre d’exercices de remorquage de planeur. Ces manœuvres n’avaient pas fait partie de l’exposé avant le vol. À ce stade, l’avion remorqueur se trouvait à environ 5900 pieds ASL. L’avion remorqueur a effectué un virage à moyenne inclinaison (angle d’environ 30°) vers la gauche sur environ 145°, ce qui a amené les deux aéronefs à peu près au-dessus du centre de CEH2. Il a ensuite effectué un virage à moyenne inclinaison (angle d’environ 30°) vers la droite sur environ 90°, ce qui a placé les aéronefs sur un cap de 305° vrai (V) près de la limite ouest de CEH2, à environ 6100 pieds ASL. Le planeur a largué le câble de remorquage à mi-chemin durant ce virage.

Habituellement, un pilote de planeur largue le câble de remorquage quand les 2 aéronefs se trouvent en vol rectiligne en palier. Le planeur avait déjà largué le câble lorsque l’avion remorqueur a atteint le point de largage prévu, mais le pilote de l’avion remorqueur ne le savait pas. Peu de temps après, l’équipage de conduite du planeur a communiqué par radio avec le pilote de l’avion remorqueur pour le remercier du remorquage. Le pilote de l’avion remorqueur ne pouvait apercevoir le planeur, mais a effectué un virage de sécurité vers la gauche sur environ 80°, selon la procédure standardNote de bas de page 2 suivant le largage d’un planeur. Il n’a pas amorcé de descente à ce stade, mais il a entrepris de configurer l’avion en vue de l’approche et de l’atterrissage à CEH2.

Comme le pilote de l’avion remorqueur ne pouvait apercevoir le planeur, il a amorcé un faible viragevers la droite afin de repérer le planeur. L’avion remorqueur s’est ainsi trouvé sur un cap de 270 °V. Comme il n’apercevait toujours pas le planeur, le pilote de l’avion remorqueur a effectué un virage vers la gauche sur 90° en direction presque plein sud. Aucune tentative de communication avec le planeur n’a été faite pour déterminer sa position.

Lorsque le planeur s’est détaché de l’avion remorqueur, à mi-chemin du second virage à inclinaison moyenne à une altitude d’environ 6100 pieds ASL, l’équipage de conduite du planeur a suivi un cap approximatif de 270 °V. En se détachant durant un virage vers la droite, le planeur ne se trouvait pas dans une position où le pilote de l’avion remorqueur s’attendait à le voir, c’est-à-dire derrière lui sur sa droite (figure 1).

À 15 h 55, alors que les aéronefs se trouvaient à 0,5 mille marin (NM) au sud-ouest du seuil de la piste 07 et à une altitude d’environ 6075 pieds ASL, l’hélice de l’avion remorqueur a percuté l’empennage de queue du planeur. En tout, 34 secondes s’étaient écoulées entre le largage du planeur et la collision.

Lors de la collision, les stabilisateurs verticaux et horizontaux ont été séparés du planeur. Le planeur est entré dans une plongée dont il n’a pas pu récupérer et a percuté le relief dans une assiette quasi verticale. L’élève-pilote et l’instructeur ont été mortellement blessés. Les deux portaient un parachute au moment de l’événement à l’étude.

Figure 1. Aperçu des trajectoires de vol de l’avion remorqueur et du planeur, avec en médaillon un diagramme montrant les positions des aéronefs au moment de la collision (Source : BST)
Aperçu des trajectoires de vol de l’avion remorqueur et du planeur, avec en médaillon un diagramme montrant les positions des aéronefs au moment de la collision (Source : BST)

L’hélice et le capot de l’avion remorqueur ont subi des dommages importants, et l’aile droite a été légèrement endommagée. Le pilote n’a pas été blessé et a réussi un atterrissage forcé au régime de ralenti sur la piste 14 à 15 h 57.

Renseignements sur l’épave

Le planeur a percuté le relief dans une assiette quasi verticale à 0,61 NM à l’ouest-sud-ouest de l’intersection des pistes 07/25 et 14/32 à CEH2, à une élévation de 3790 pieds ASL. Les bords d’attaque des ailes gauche et droite présentaient des signes de dommages attribuables au choc sur la plus grande partie de leur longueur. La collision avec le relief a détruit l’aéronef.

Le stabilisateur vertical a été retrouvé à environ 1200 pieds au nord-ouest du lieu principal de l’accident. Le stabilisateur horizontal a été retrouvé à environ 1600 pieds au nord-ouest du lieu principal de l’accident et présentait des marques de peinture de l’hélice de l’avion remorqueur. Ni la gouverne de direction ni la gouverne de profondeur n’ont été retrouvées. On a retrouvé des fibres de verre provenant du planeur dans l’hélice de l’avion remorqueur.

Renseignements sur les pilotes

Le pilote de l’avion remorqueur était titulaire d’une licence de pilote privé valide, d’une licence de pilote – Planeur valide, et d’une qualification d’instructeur de vol – Planeur valide. Il était bénévole au Cu Nim Gliding Club et occupait le poste de chef pilote de remorqueur de cette organisation. Il avait à son actif quelque 740 heures de vol sur des avions monomoteur. Il avait effectué un vol annuel de vérification des compétences pour pilote de remorqueur le 23 mars 2019.

L’instructeur était titulaire d’une licence de pilote – Planeur valide et d’une qualification d’instructeur de vol – Planeur valide. Il était également bénévole au Cu Nim Gliding Club. La dernière inscription dans le carnet de vol de l’instructeur remontait au 1er juillet 2019. À ce moment, il avait accumulé environ 900 heures de vol qui comprenaient du temps de vol en double commande, comme commandant de bord, et comme instructeur de vol.

L’élève-pilote était titulaire d’un permis d’élève-pilote – Planeur et avait commencé sa formation au pilotage au Cu Nim Gliding Club en 2017. Son premier vol d’instruction avait été consigné le 13 juillet 2017. Son premier et unique vol en solo, d’une durée de 0,3 heure, avait eu lieu le 28 octobre 2018. Au moment de l’événement à l’étude, l’élève-pilote avait à son actif 76 vols en double commande pour un total de 26,8 heures de vol en double commande.

Renseignements sur les aéronefs

Avion remorqueur

Le Cessna 182N est un avion monomoteur à piston, tout en aluminium. L’avion en cause dans l’événement à l’étude a été fabriqué en 1970 et a été immatriculé au nom du Cu Nim Gliding Club le 27 février 2015. Il servait au remorquage des planeurs de l’aéroclub pour des vols de loisir et d’instruction.

L’avion était équipé d’un système anticollision embarqué (ACAS) PowerFLARM CoreNote de bas de page 3. Le jour de l’événement à l’étude, le système PowerFLARM Core installé à bord de l’avion ne fonctionnait pas. De plus, tout au long de la saison de navigation aérienne 2019, on avait consigné dans le journal quotidien officieux de l’aéroclub les problèmes suivants du système PowerFLARM de cet avion [traduction] :

  • « Power Flarm intermittent » (22 mars 2019)
  • « AFFICHAGE POWER FLARM NON FONCTIONNEL » (31 mars 2019)
  • « Flarm intermittent => se réinitialise constamment » (19 juillet 2019)

Ces défaillances n’étaient pas consignées dans le carnet de route d’aéronef, ce qui est pourtant exigé par la réglementationNote de bas de page 4.

Planeur

Le Schleicher ASK 21 est un planeur biplace tout en composite qui sert principalement aux vols d’instruction. Le planeur dans l’événement à l’étude a été fabriqué en 2009 et a été immatriculé au nom du Cu Nim Gliding Club le 2 juin 2009. Habituellement, l’élève-pilote occupe le siège avant, et l’instructeur le siège arrière; c’était le cas durant le vol à l’étude. Le planeur était équipé d’un système PowerFLARM Portable, qui était installé sur le tableau de bord du pilote occupant le siège arrière. Les rapports indiquent qu’il fonctionnait le jour de l’événement à l’étude.

Renseignements météorologiques

Aucun message d’observation météorologique régulière d’aérodrome (METAR) n’est publié pour CEH2. L’aéroport de Calgary/Springbank (CYBW) en Alberta, qui se trouve à environ 24 NM au nord-nord-ouest de CEH2, est l’aéroport le plus proche qui publie des METAR. Le METAR diffusé à 16 h faisait état des conditions suivantes :

  • vents du 180 °V à 12 nœuds, variant de 120 °V à 190 °V;
  • visibilité de 9 milles terrestres et dégagée;
  • température de 26 °C, point de rosée de 12 °C.

Les conditions météorologiques et la position du soleil n’ont pas été considérées comme des facteurs contributifs à cet événement.

Moyens de défense contre les collisions en vol

Surveillance visuelle

Comme l’indique le Manuel d’information aéronautique de Transports Canada (AIM de TC) :

Les pilotes qui évoluent en VFR [règles de vol à vue] ou en IFR [règles de vol aux instruments] dans des conditions VMC [conditions météorologiques de vol à vue] ont l’entière responsabilité de voir et d’éviter les autres aéronefs. Il est nécessaire de combiner la surveillance visuelle et l’écoute des fréquences afin d’accroître la sécurité des vols dans le voisinage des aérodromes non contrôlésNote de bas de page 5.

Le principe voir et éviter a été examiné dans un certain nombre d’autres enquêtes du BSTNote de bas de page 6. Il s’agit de la méthode de base d’évitement des collisions en vol VFR, fondée sur un balayage visuel actif de même que sur la capacité de détecter des avions en conflit et de prendre les mesures qui s’imposent pour les éviter. D’après une circulaire d’information publiée par la Federal Aviation Administration (FAA) des États-Unis : [traduction] « Les pilotes doivent toujours être attentifs à la circulation aérienne dans leur champ de vision, et périodiquement balayer du regard l’espace visible en dehors de leur avion pour s’assurer de détecter tout aéronef en conflitNote de bas de page 7 ». La méthode la plus efficace pour percevoir les conflits potentiels consiste à balayer rapidement l’espace visible en petites sections à la fois (de 10° à 15° de large) pour détecter des mouvementsNote de bas de page 8.

Procédures établies de remorquage et de largage

La publication PLANER et apprendre à piloter des planeurs de l’Association canadienne de vol à voile (ACVV) offre aux pilotes de planeurs des conseils sur les techniques de pilotage. Elle comprend les conseils suivants sur le largage du câble de remorquage :

Quand vous avez atteint l’altitude de largage (habituellement 2 000 pieds au-dessus du sol), regardez autour de vous pour voir s’il y a d’autres aéronefs. Regardez surtout à droite puisque c’est dans cette direction que vous allez virer.

S’il n’y a rien à droite, tirez la commande de largage et assurez-vous visuellement que le câble s’est détachée [sic] du planeur. Amorcez un faible virage à droite. Ce virage indique au pilote-remorqueur que vous avez largué. Au même moment, il est de coutume d’ajuster votre vitesse à l’aide du compensateur (trim) pour la suite de votre vol et habituellement vous réduirez votre vitesseNote de bas de page 9.

L’article poursuit ainsi :

Si l’on vire à droite après le largage, c’est pour s’éloigner promptement du sillage de l’avion remorqueur et du câble qui pendille, mais aussi pour se placer de côté pour être vu du pilote-remorqueur. Celui-ci ne descendra pas tant qu’il ne se sera pas assuré que le planeur a largué. Il suffit donc de virer de quelques degrés quoique, si vous êtes dans une thermique, vous pourrez vouloir poursuivre le virage. Si vous le faites, assurez-vous que l’avion-remorqueur est à bonne distance et en descenteNote de bas de page 10.

Le Cu Nim Gliding Club’s Operations Manual [manuel d’exploitation] donne les conseils suivants aux pilotes d’avion remorqueur sur ce qu’ils doivent faire après que le planeur s’est détaché [traduction] :

  • Après avoir confirmé visuellement que le planeur s’est détaché, le pilote de remorqueur doit effectuer un virage en descente vers la gauche pendant que le planeur effectue un virage vers la droiteNote de bas de page 11.

Le manuel d’exploitation contient les politiques et procédures de l’aéroclub relativement à divers aspects des opérations aériennes. Le manuel de sécurité de l’aéroclub contient de l’information additionnelle en matière de sécurité. Le manuel d’exploitation et le manuel de sécurité indiquent que l’aéroclub doit utiliser les procédures de remorquage et de largage qui sont décrites dans le manuel d’apprentissage du vol à voile de l’ACVVNote de bas de page 12. Toutefois, l’aéroclub n’a mis en place aucune procédure standard à suivre par les pilotes d’avion remorqueur en cas de perte du contact visuel avec le planeur, ou en cas de doute relativement à la position du planeur par rapport à la leur. De plus, l’ACVV n’offre aucune ligne directrice officielle à suivre par les pilotes de remorqueur dans de telles circonstances.

Systèmes électroniques de surveillance du trafic

Les deux aéronefs étaient équipés d’un système ACAS FLARM, même si la réglementation en vigueur ne l’exigeait pas. Le fabricant décrit cette technologie ainsi [traduction] :

Le système FLARM calcule et transmet sa propre trajectoire de vol future aux aéronefs dans les environs. Parallèlement, il reçoit la trajectoire de vol future d’autres avions dans les environs. Un algorithme intelligent de prédiction des mouvements calcule un risque de collision pour chaque aéronef selon un modèle intégré des risques. Si une collision est imminente, le système avise les pilotes en indiquant la position relative de l’intrus, ce qui leur permet d’éviter une collisionNote de bas de page 13.

L’appareil PowerFLARM Core installé à bord de l’avion remorqueur ne fonctionnait pas le jour de l’accident. Par conséquent, l’appareil PowerFLARM Portable installé à bord du planeur n’aurait fourni aucun renseignement à son équipage de conduite sur la position de l’avion remorqueur.

Surveillance opérationnelle

Transports Canada

Au Canada, la réglementation n’oblige pas les clubs de vol à voile à détenir un certificat d’exploitation d’unité de formation au pilotage, même s’ils peuvent offrir une formation structurée et un examen en vol, et recommander à Transports Canada (TC) de délivrer une licence de pilote – Planeur à un élève-pilote une fois que ce dernier a satisfait aux exigences de formation. Puisque la loi n’oblige pas les clubs de vol à voile à détenir un certificat d’exploitation d’unité de formation au pilotage, ces organisations ne font l’objet d’aucune surveillance de la part de TC. Par conséquent, TC n’avait mené aucun type de vérification ou d’inspection de validation de procédure du Cu Nim Gliding Club avant l’événement à l’étude.

Association canadienne de vol à voile

L’ACVV est une association de sport amateur sans but lucratif qui assure la promotion, l’amélioration et la protection du vol à voile sportif au Canada. Cette association se compose de plusieurs comités auxquels siègent des bénévoles qui abordent divers aspects liés à l’exploitation de planeurs (p. ex., la formation au pilotage et la sécurité, la certification médicale, les aspects techniques et l’espace aérien). L’association appuie les clubs de vol à voile partout au pays, principalement en leur fournissant des documents d’orientation et des normes dont peuvent se servir les clubs pour mener leurs activités normales. L’ACVV ne détient aucune autorité réglementaire pour constituer ou faire respecter des règlements liés à l’aviation au Canada.

L’association recommande aux clubs de vol à voile d’effectuer une vérification de la sécurité et de remettre un formulaire de vérification rempli à l’association tous les 3 ans. Même si l’ACVV ne réalise pas ces vérifications, elle apporte son soutien à tout club qui lui en fait la demande expresse. Le Comité de sécurité de l’ACVV examine les formulaires de vérification présentés en vue de cerner tout élément préoccupant.

Le dernier formulaire de vérification de la sécurité présenté par le Cu Nim Gliding Club à l’ACVV remontait au 15 novembre 2016. L’association n’avait alors formulé aucun commentaire au club sur les résultats de la vérification.

Messages de sécurité

Dans l’événement à l’étude, il n’y avait aucune procédure à suivre en cas de perte de contact visuel après le largage du câble de remorquage. Il est important que les exploitants aient en place des procédures pour exploiter leurs aéronefs de façon sécuritaire, et que le personnel suive ces procédures.

Ni l’un ni l’autre des pilotes n’a aperçu l’autre aéronef à temps pour éviter une collision en vol, en partie à cause des limites inhérentes au principe voir et éviter. Se fier uniquement à la détection visuelle augmente le risque d’abordage dans un espace aérien non contrôlé. On encourage les pilotes à diffuser leurs intentions afin de maintenir la conscience situationnelle des pilotes d’autres aéronefs.

Les systèmes anticollision embarqués (ACAS) pourraient considérablement réduire les risques de collision en vol. Si un aéronef est équipé d’un système ACAS, il est important de maintenir ce système en bon état de service.

Le présent rapport conclut l’enquête du Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada sur cet événement. Le Bureau a autorisé la publication de ce rapport le . Le rapport a été officiellement publié le .



Ce rapport est le résultat d'une enquête sur un événement de catégorie 4. Voir la Politique de classification des événements.

Date de modification :