Senior management

Chief Operating Officer

Photo of Jean L. Laporte, Chief Operating Officer, Transportation Safety Board of Canada

Jean L. Laporte

Appointed Chief Operating Officer on 24 August 2009

Mr. Laporte's public service career began at the Treasury Board Secretariat, followed by a stay at Revenue Canada, Customs and Excise. In 1985, he joined the Canadian Aviation Safety Board (CASB) and subsequently the Transportation Safety Board of Canada (TSB), occupying a variety of progressively more senior positions, including those of Director General of Corporate Services and Chief Financial Officer. During his more than 30 years with CASB and TSB, he was actively involved in the development, review, approval and implementation of business processes, policies, systems, tools and training programs covering all operations and activities of the organization.

Mr. Laporte graduated from the University of Ottawa with an Honours Bachelor of Commerce degree. In 1989, he received his Certified General Accountant (CGA) designation, and became a Chartered Professional Accountant (CPA) in 2013. In 2002, Mr. Laporte was awarded the Queen's Jubilee Medal in recognition for his contribution to the federal public service, and in 2007 was awarded a Fellowship by the Certified General Accountants Association of Canada for his contribution to the accounting profession.

Director, Investigations—Marine

Marc-André Poisson, Director of Investigations, Marine

Marc-André Poisson

Captain Marc-André Poisson joined the Transportation Safety Board of Canada (TSB) in 2011 as Director of Marine Investigations.

Previously, he held a variety of federal government positions, including Senior Director, Industrial Security; Director, Operations Support of the Coast Guard Fleet and Ship's Officer.

Mr. Poisson has Command at Sea experience, was On-Scene Commander on many marine spills and an emergency responder on many accidents, including the Swissair disaster. He has taught in the Maritime domain in Canada, Africa and Europe. He has also trained as a hovercraft navigator and pilot and is a Certified Hazmat Technician.

Mr. Poisson holds two college diplomas in science, has completed an International Business program in France (UCF), a Bachelor of Arts degree (Université du Québec) and a Master's degree in Marine Policy (University of Wales). He has a number of publications to his credit, including a manual for first responders to chemical spills at sea. Finally, he is the recipient of the Coast Guard's highest award: the Exemplary Service Medal.

Director, Investigations—Rail/Pipeline

Kirby Jang, Director of Investigations, Rail and Pipeline

Kirby Jang

Kirby Jang joined the Transportation Safety Board of Canada (TSB) in 2003 as Manager, Regional Operations and since that time has completed or reviewed over 80 rail accident investigations. He became Director of Investigations in 2009.

Prior to joining the TSB, Mr. Jang worked primarily in the railway industry for a number of engineering consulting firms. In his capacity as railway systems consultant, he was directly responsible for the management and successful completion of over 100 technical projects.

Mr Jang's education credentials include three university degrees: a Bachelor (1984) and Master (1985) of Applied Science from the University of Waterloo in Civil Engineering and a Master of Business Administration (1992) from the University of Toronto.

Director, Investigations—Air

                               

 

 

 

 

Natacha Van Themsche

Natacha Van Themsche joined the Transportation Safety Board of Canada (TSB) in February 2017, as Director of Air Investigations.

Prior to joining the TSB, she held positions as Director and Commanding Officer in the Canadian Armed Forces, where she served for more than 24 years. As an aerospace engineering officer, she held several key positions directing airworthiness and engineering activities, as well as maintenance operations within the Royal Canadian Air Force. These experiences led her to work on several fleets of aircraft, such as the CT-133 (Silver Star), the CC-144 (Challenger), the CT-114 (Tutor/Snowbirds), and more particularly the CF-18 (Hornet).

Ms. Van Themsche began her career with the Canadian Armed Forces in 1992. She completed her Bachelor of Science, Honours Space Science, at the Royal Military College in Kingston in 1997, and her training in aerospace engineering in 1999. In 2012, Ms. Van Themsche was awarded the Queen Elizabeth II Diamond Jubilee Medal in recognition for her contribution to the Canadian Armed Forces and the community.

Director, Operational Services

Leo Donati, Director of Operational Services

Leo Donati

Dr. Leo Donati joined the Transportation Safety Board of Canada (TSB) in 1997 as a Senior Human Factors Analyst. He served as Manager, Human Factors and Macro Analysis (2008-2011) before being promoted to the position of Director in 2011. He actively participated as a human factors specialist in over 100 investigations, including the Swissair 111 in-flight fire, the MK Airlines reduced power take-off and collision with terrain, the McBride railway bridge collapse and the Queen of the North ferry sinking.

Dr. Donati has 25 years experience in the federal government. Prior to joining the TSB, he served with the Canadian Forces, as a Bioscience Officer in various roles such as providing human factors support to development,and acquisition projects and in support of accident investigation for the Directorate of Flight Safety.

Dr. Donati holds a Bachelor of Arts degree in Anthropology as well as a Bachelors of Science degree in Biology from the University of British Columbia. He also earned two Masters of Science degrees, one in Biology (Simon Fraser University) and one in Ergonomics (Loughborough University of Technology). He obtained his Doctorate in Human Factors in the Mechanical and Industrial Engineering Department at the University of Toronto.

Director General, Corporate Services

Chantal Lemyre, Director General of Corporate services

Chantal Lemyre

Chantal Lemyre joined the Transportation Safety Board of Canada (TSB) in November 2009 as the Director General, Corporate Services. As part of her duties, she has the following titles on behalf of the TSB: Chief Financial Officer, Chief Information Officer and Head of Human Resources.

Ms. Lemyre has over 20 years of experience in federal government entities. Prior to joining the TSB, she was a Senior Director with Public Works and Government Services Canada responsible for the production of the Government of Canada's monthly and year-end financial statements. She has also worked in financial management and auditor roles for Treasury Board Secretariat, the Office of the Auditor General and Canada Mortgage and Housing Corporation.

Ms. Lemyre is a Chartered Professional Accountant, Certified General Accountant, and holds a Bachelor of Commerce and an MBA from the University of Ottawa.

Acting director, Communications

                               

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

General Counsel

Patrizia Huot, General Counsel

Patrizia Huot

Patrizia Huot holds a Common Law Degree (LL.B.) and a Masters in Classical Studies (Archaeology, Roman Numismatics) from Ottawa University. She has been a member of the Ontario Bar since 1999.

Patrizia clerked for the Honourable Rouleau J. at the Federal Court of Canada. She worked as in house counsel at the Immigration and Refugee Board of Canada. In 2001, Patrizia occupied the position of Executive Assistant and Legal Counsel to Mary Dawson Q.C., Associate Deputy Minister at the Department of Justice, where she worked on numerous high profile legal cases. From 2005 to 2014, Patrizia joined Legal Services at Transport Canada where she worked as Corporate counsel in the areas of transportation law, access and privacy law, and employment law. In 2014, Patrizia also worked the Canadian Human Right Commission as Legal Advisor.

Haute direction

Administrateur en chef des opérations

Photo de Jean L. Laporte, administrateur en chef des opérations, Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada

Jean L. Laporte

Nommé administrateur en chef des opérations le 24 août 2009

M. Laporte a débuté sa carrière dans la fonction publique au Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor, puis à Revenu Canada Douanes et Accise. En 1985, il s'est joint au Bureau canadien de la sécurité aérienne (BCSA) et, par la suite, au Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST). Il y a occupé divers postes exigeant progressivement plus de responsabilités, y compris ceux de directeur général, Services intégrés et de dirigeant principal des finances. Au cours de ses plus de 30 ans au sein du BCSA et BST, il a été activement impliqué dans le développement, la révision, l'approbation et la mise en œuvre des processus d'affaires, des politiques, des systèmes, des outils et des programmes de formation couvrant toutes les opérations et activités de l'organisation.

M. Laporte a obtenu un baccalauréat spécialisé en commerce de l'Université d'Ottawa. En 1989, il a reçu l'accréditation de comptable général accrédité (CGA) et en 2013, est devenu comptable professionnel agréé (CPA). En 2002, M. Laporte s'est vu décerner la Médaille du jubilé de la reine à titre de reconnaissance pour sa contribution à la fonction publique fédérale, et, en 2007, a reçu de la part de l'Association des comptables généraux accrédités du Canada le titre de « fellow » (distinction honorifique) pour souligner sa contribution à la profession de comptable.

Directeur, Enquêtes — Marine

Marc-André Poisson, Director of Investigations, Marine

Marc-André Poisson

Le capitaine Marc-André Poisson est entré au Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) en 2011 à titre de directeur des Enquêtes maritimes.

Par le passé, il a notamment travaillé au sein du gouvernement fédéral à titre de directeur principal à la Sécurité industrielle, de directeur du soutien aux Opérations de la flotte de la Garde côtière et officier de navire.

M. Poisson a l'expérience du commandement en mer, a assumé les rôles de commandant sur place pour de nombreux déversements en milieu marin et intervenant d'urgence pour un grand nombre d'accidents, y compris la tragédie de Swiss Air. Il a enseigné dans le domaine maritime au Canada, en Afrique et en Europe, a une formation de navigateur et pilote d'aéroglisseur et est technicien HAZMAT certifié.

M. Poisson possède deux diplômes d'études collégiales en sciences et a suivi le programme des affaires internationales à l'UCF, en France. Il possède un baccalauréat en arts de l'Université du Québec et une maîtrise en politique maritime de l'Université de Wales. Il est auteur de nombreuses publications, dont un manuel pour le personnel de première intervention en cas de déversement de produits chimiques en mer. Enfin, il est lauréat de la plus haute distinction décernée par la Garde côtière : la médaille pour service exemplaire.

Directeur, Enquêtes — Rail/Pipeline

Kirby Jang, Director of Investigations, Rail and Pipeline

Kirby Jang

Kirby Jang s'est joint au Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) en 2003 comme gestionnaire des opérations régionales, et depuis ce temps a complété ou révisé plus de 80 enquêtes ferroviaires. Il est devenu directeur des Enquêtes en 2009.

Avant de se joindre au BST, il a travaillé principalement dans l'industrie des chemins de fer pour un certain nombre de cabinets conseil. En sa capacité de consultant en systèmes de chemins de fer, il était directement responsable de la gestion et de la finalisation avec succès de plus de 100 projets techniques.

M. Jang détient trois diplômes universitaires : un baccalauréat (1984) et une maîtrise (1985) en sciences appliquées de l'Université de Waterloo avec spécialisation en génie civil et une maîtrise en administration des affaires (1992) de l'Université de Toronto.

Directrice, Enquêtes — Air

Natacha Van Themsche, Directrice, Enquêtes - Air

Natacha Van Themsche

Natacha Van Themsche s'est jointe au Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) en février 2017, à titre de directrice des enquêtes aéronautiques.

Avant de se joindre au BST, elle a notamment occupé des postes de directrice et de commandante au sein des Forces armées canadiennes, où elle a œuvré pendant plus de 24 ans. Officier du génie aérospatial, elle a occupé plusieurs postes clés au niveau de la direction des activités de navigabilité et d'ingénierie, ainsi que des opérations de maintenance au sein de l'Aviation royale canadienne. Ces expériences l'ont amenée à travailler sur plusieurs flottes d'aéronefs, telles que le CT-133 (Silver Star), le CC-144 (Challenger), le CT-114 (Tutor/Snowbirds), et plus particulièrement le CF-18 (Hornet).

Mme Van Themsche a débuté sa carrière au sein des Forces armées canadiennes en 1992. Elle a complété son Baccalauréat ès science, Sciences spatiales avec spécialisation, au Collège militaire royal du Canada à Kingston en 1997, et sa formation en génie aérospatial en 1999. En 2012, Mme Van Themsche s'est vu décerner la Médaille du jubilé de diamant de la Reine Élizabeth II à titre de reconnaissance pour sa contribution aux Forces armées canadiennes et à la collectivité.

Directeur, Services à l'appui des opérations

Leo Donati, Directeur, Services à l'appui des opérations

Leo Donati

Leo Donati s'est joint au Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) en 1997, en tant qu'analyste principal des facteurs humains. Il a agi en tant que gestionnaire des facteurs humains et analyse macro de 2008 à 2011, avant d'être nommé directeur en 2011. Il a participé, à titre de spécialiste des facteurs humains, à plus de 100 enquêtes, notamment l'enquête sur l'incendie en vol menant à un impact avec un plan d'eau du vol Swissair 111, celle du décollage à puissance réduite et collision avec le relief de MK Airlines, celle de l'effondrement du pont de chemin de fer McBride et celle du naufrage du traversier Queen of the North.

M. Donati a 25 années d'expérience dans la fonction publique fédérale. Avant d'entrer au service du BST, il a travaillé au sein des Forces canadiennes en tant qu'officier de sciences biologiques, occupant divers rôles, comme soutien en matière de facteurs humains pour la formation, pour des projets d'achats, et en appui aux enquêtes d'accidents de la Direction de la sécurité des vols.

M. Donati détient un baccalauréat en arts (anthropologie) ainsi qu'un baccalauréat en sciences (biologie) de l'Université de Colombie-Britannique. Il a également deux maîtrises en sciences, l'une en biologie (Simon Fraser University) et l'autre en ergonomie (Loughborough University of Technology).Il a reçu son doctorat en facteurs humains du Mechanical and Industrial Engineering Department de l'Université de Toronto.

Directeur général, Services intégrés

Luc Casault, directeur général des services intégrés

Luc Casault

Luc Casault s'est joint au Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) en avril 2017 à titre de directeur général des services intégrés. Dans le cadre de ses fonctions au BST, il assure les rôles de dirigeant principal des finances, de dirigeant principal de l'information et de chef des ressources humaines.

M. Casault a 20 années d'expérience au sein de l'appareil public fédéral. À travers sa carrière, il a participé à plusieurs initiatives de modernisation. Avant de se joindre au BST, il travaillait comme directeur principal, Modernisation des processus d'approvisionnements, à Services publics et Approvisionnement Canada. Il a aussi travaillé à Statistiques Canada, au Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor du Canada (Direction du dirigeant principal de l'information), à Ressources naturelles Canada (en finances et approvisionnement) et à Immigration, Réfugiés et Citoyenneté Canada (en finances).

M. Casault est comptable professionnel agréé et comptable général accrédité, et détient un baccalauréat en commerce et une maîtrise en administration des affaires de l'Université d'Ottawa. En 2010, il a remporté un prix GTEC soulignant la mise en œuvre réussie du projet national de paiement électronique à Ressources naturelles Canada.

Directrice, Communications

Rox-Anne D'Aoust, Directrice, Communications

Rox-Anne D'Aoust

Rox-Anne D'Aoust a été nommée directrice, Communications en mai 2017. Elle compte plus de 20 ans d'expérience dans les services de communications des secteurs public et privé.

Avant d'entrer au service du BST en 2012 comme gestionnaire des communications stratégiques et relations avec les médias, Mme D'Aoust a passé cinq années à l'Agence du revenu du Canada. À l'ARC, elle a accompli de nombreuses et diverses tâches dans différentes fonctions, entre autres comme rédactrice, chef des Communications au Bureau de l'ombudsman des contribuables, conseillère principale en affaires publiques, et gestionnaire intérimaire des programmes et enjeux. Elle possède également une vaste expérience des relations publiques, gestion de la production et en marketing.

Mme D'Aoust est titulaire d'un baccalauréat en communications de l'Université d'Ottawa et elle est parfaitement bilingue.

Avocate générale

Patrizia Huot, Avocate générale

Patrizia Huot

Patrizia Huot s'est jointe au BST en avril 2015 à titre d'avocate générale. Elle détient un diplôme en Common Law (LL.B.) et une maîtrise en études classiques (archéologie, numismatique romaine) de l'Université d'Ottawa. Elle est membre du Barreau de l'Ontario depuis 1999.

Patrizia a travaillé à titre d’auxiliaire juridique de l'honorable juge Rouleau de la Cour fédérale du Canada. Elle a occupé le poste d’avocate interne à la Commission de l'immigration et du statut de réfugié du Canada. En 2001, Patrizia a occupé le poste d'adjointe exécutive et avocate de Mary Dawson Q.C., sous-ministre adjointe au ministère de la Justice, où elle a travaillé à de nombreuses causes judiciaires très médiatisées. De 2005 à 2014, Patrizia s’est jointe aux services juridiques à Transports Canada, où elle a travaillé comme avocate-conseil dans les domaines du droit du transport, de l'accès à l’information et du droit à la vie privée, ainsi que du droit du travail. En 2014, Patrizia a également travaillé à la Commission canadienne des droits de la personne en tant que conseillère juridique.