On-board video and voice recorders

This video discusses the absence of on-board video and voice recorders in locomotives, which is one of the nine safety issues identified by the Transportation Safety Board as posing the greatest risk to Canadians. To find out more about these safety issues, see the Watchlist 2012.

Transcript of the video

On-board video and voice recorders

Advancing safety is at the core of what we do at the Transportation Safety Board. Our Watchlist—updated in June 2012—is the result of hundreds of investigations and countless hours of accident analysis. As a result, it identifies the issues that pose the greatest risk to Canadians and our transportation system. The introduction of on-board video and voice recorders is one of these key issues.

As part of our investigation process for railway accidents, our investigators analyze data from locomotive event recorders—similar to a black box on an aircraft. These event recorders provide incredibly valuable data such as how fast the train was going, whether or not the braking system was applied and if the brakes were activated manually by the crew or automatically by the train. But trains aren't equipped with voice recorders and are not normally equipped with video recorders.

Even though the information retrieved from locomotive event recorders plays a critical role in our investigations, the data alone does not always tell the whole story. To accurately piece together the sequence of events leading to an accident, we must also understand exactly how the crew communicated and what actions took place in the cab. The only way to capture this information, though, is by installing on-board voice and video recorders.

But this isn't new. We've been calling for voice recorders on Canadian trains since 2003. Accidents such as the train derailments in Saint Charles de Bellechasse, Québec and Burlington, Ontario only further emphasize the need for this technology. Thankfully, discussions on this issue are finally now underway between Transport Canada and industry stakeholders.

By placing this issue on our Watchlist, we hope that voice and video recorders become standard equipment on trains. Not just because Canadians expect accurate information about railway safety, but because they deserve it.

Enregistreurs vidéo et de la parole

La vidéo suivante discute de l'absence d'enregistreurs vidéo et de la parole à bord des locomotives, qui constitue l'un des neuf problèmes de sécurité posant le plus grand risque pour les Canadiens selon le Bureau de la sécurité des transports. Pour plus d'information sur ces problèmes de sécurité, voir la Liste de surveillance 2012.

Transcription de la vidéo

Enregistreurs vidéo et de la parole

L'amélioration de la sécurité est au cœur de notre mission au Bureau de la sécurité des transports. En juin 2012, nous avons mis à jour notre Liste de surveillance après des centaines d'enquêtes et de nombreuses heures d'analyse d'accidents. Nous avons pu cerner les enjeux qui présentent les plus grands risques pour les Canadiens et notre système de transport. Parmi ces enjeux, on compte l'adoption des enregistreurs vidéo et de la parole à bord des locomotives.

Dans les cas d'accidents de trains, notre processus d'enquête comprend l'analyse des données des consignateurs d'événements de locomotive, qui sont semblables aux boîtes noires pour avions. Ces consignateurs d'événements fournissent des données extrêmement précieuses qui permettent de déterminer à quelle vitesse le train roulait, si le système de freinage a été déclenché et si les freins ont été appliqués manuellement par l'équipage ou automatiquement par le train. Mais les trains ne sont pas équipés d'enregistreurs de la parole et ne sont pas habituellement équipés d'enregistreurs vidéo.

Même si l'information récupérée des consignateurs d'événements de locomotive joue un rôle essentiel dans nos enquêtes, parfois, les données ne disent pas tout. Pour pouvoir reconstituer la séquence des événements qui ont mené à l'accident, il faut aussi connaître les communications entre les membres de l'équipage et les gestes qui ont été posés dans la cabine. Le seul moyen d'obtenir cette information, c'est d'installer des enregistreurs vidéo et de la parole à bord des locomotives.

L'idée n'est pas nouvelle. Nous réclamons l'installation d'enregistreurs de la parole sur les trains canadiens depuis 2003. Des accidents tels que les déraillements de trains à Saint Charles de Bellechasse au Québec et à Burlington en Ontario montrent bien à quel point cette technologie est nécessaire. Heureusement, Transports Canada et les intervenants de l'industrie ont enfin commencé à en discuter.

En inscrivant cet enjeu sur notre Liste de surveillance, nous espérons faire en sorte que les enregistreurs vidéo et de la parole soient désormais installés sur tous les trains. Car les Canadiens s'attendent à avoir l'heure juste sur la sécurité ferroviaire, et nous considérons qu'ils y ont droit.