Landing accidents and runway overruns

This video discusses landing accidents and runway overruns, which is one of the nine safety issues identified by the Transportation Safety Board as posing the greatest risk to Canadians. To find out more about these safety issues, see the Watchlist 2012.


Transcript of the video

Landing accidents and runway overruns

Advancing safety is at the core of what we do at the Transportation Safety Board. Our Watchlist—updated in June 2012—is the result of hundreds of investigations and countless hours of accident analysis. As a result, it identifies the issues that pose the greatest risk to Canadians and our transportation system. Landing accidents and runway overruns are one of these key issues.

Millions of landings occur each year on Canadian runways. Most arrive without incident. But because of our northern climate, rain, snow, ice and slush can affect runway conditions. To ensure passengers and crew arrive safely, pilots carefully calculate the distance needed to land. This means they must have the most up-to-date information about the runway surface. If this information isn't available, landing distance calculations may be incorrect—which puts the aircraft at risk of running off the runway.

And these types of accidents occur more often than you may think. About once a month in the last five years, an aircraft overran a Canadian runway. Roughly half of those overruns involved commercial flights.

We first raised the issue of runway overruns and landing accidents back in 2010 with the launch our first safety Watchlist. But since then, the number of accidents has not significantly decreased.

Thankfully, solutions already exist: airports can install safety areas and structures designed to stop aircraft from overshooting the runway. The problem is that far too few airports have made use of these critical safety defenses, and Canada now lags behind international standards.

The bottom line is: if we don't do anything to prevent landing accidents and runway overruns, passengers, crew and aircraft will continue to be placed at unnecessary risk of injury or damage.

Play a part in advancing Canada's aviation safety record. This Watchlist issue is one that can no longer be left unaddressed.

Accidents à l'atterrissage et dépassements de piste

La vidéo suivante discute des accidents à l'atterrissage et dépassements de piste, qui constitue l'un des neuf problèmes de sécurité posant le plus grand risque pour les Canadiens selon le Bureau de la sécurité des transports. Pour plus d'information sur ces problèmes de sécurité, voir la Liste de surveillance 2012.


Transcription de la vidéo

Accidents à l'atterrissage et dépassements de piste

L'amélioration de la sécurité est au cœur de notre mission au Bureau de la sécurité des transports. En juin 2012, nous avons mis à jour notre Liste de surveillance après des centaines d'enquêtes et de nombreuses heures d'analyse d'accidents. Nous avons pu cerner les enjeux qui présentent les plus grands risques pour les Canadiens et notre système de transport. Parmi ces enjeux, on compte les accidents à l'atterrissage et les dépassements de piste.

Chaque année, des millions d'atterrissages sont effectués au Canada, généralement sans incident. Mais dans notre climat nordique, la pluie, la neige, la glace et la neige fondante peuvent altérer les conditions des pistes. Avant d'atterrir, le pilote calcule exactement la distance nécessaire pour immobiliser l'appareil en toute sécurité. Il lui faut donc des données à jour sur les conditions de la piste. Autrement, ses calculs de la distance d'atterrissage peuvent être faussés et l'avion risque de dépasser la piste.

Ce type d'accidents est plus courant qu'on le pense. Environ une fois par mois au cours des cinq dernières années, un aéronef a dépassé la piste au Canada. Près de la moitié de ces accidents impliquait un aéronef commercial.

La première fois que nous avons soulevé le problème des dépassements de piste et des accidents à l'atterrissage, c'était en 2010, au lancement de notre première Liste de surveillance. Mais depuis ce temps-là, on n'a pas vu de réduction marquée du nombre d'accidents.

Heureusement, il existe des solutions. Les aéroports peuvent installer des aires de sécurité et des structures pour immobiliser les avions qui dépassent le bout de leur piste. Ces installations sont donc d'une importance énorme. Le problème, c'est que trop peu d'aéroports les ont mis en place. Et le Canada accuse maintenant un retard par rapport aux normes internationales.

Si rien n'est fait pour prévenir les accidents à l'atterrissage et les dépassements de piste, on expose les passagers, les équipages et les avions à des risques inutiles de blessures ou de dommages.

Contribuez à améliorer la sécurité aérienne au Canada. C'est un enjeu qu'on ne peut plus se permettre de négliger.