News release

TSB calls for strategies to reduce severity of dangerous goods derailments following investigation into February 2015 accident near Gogama, Ontario

Sudbury, Ontario, 16 February 2017 – Today the Transportation Safety Board of Canada (TSB) is issuing a recommendation (R17-01) calling for Transport Canada (TC) to develop strategies to reduce the severity of derailments involving dangerous goods. This recommendation was issued as part of its investigation (R15H0013) into the February 2015 derailment and fire involving a Canadian National Railway (CN) crude oil unit freight train near Gogama, Ontario.

On 14 February 2015, a CN unit train transporting 100 tank cars loaded with petroleum products derailed. It was travelling at 38 mph, below the 40 mph speed limit in place at the time. Twenty-nine tank cars of petroleum crude oil derailed and 19 of these breached, releasing 1.7 million litres of product. The crude oil ignited, resulting in fires that burned for 5 days. There were no injuries.

"This accident occurred at a speed below the maximum speed permitted by the Transport Canada approved Rules Respecting Key Trains and Key Routes," said Kathy Fox, Chair of the TSB. "The TSB is concerned that the current speed limits may not be low enough for some trains—particularly unit trains carrying flammable liquids. We are also calling for Transport Canada to look at all of the factors, including speed, which contribute to the severity of derailments, to develop mitigating strategies and to amend the rules accordingly."

The investigation found that the derailment occurred when joint bars in the track failed. Pre-existing fatigue cracks in the joint bars at this location had gone unnoticed in previous inspections. Once the fatigue cracks reached a critical size, the combination of the cold temperatures (-31 °C) and repetitive impacts from train wheels passing over the joint caused the joint bars to fail. These defects went undetected as the training, on-the-job mentoring, and supervisory support that an assistant track supervisor received was insufficient.

The cars in this train were Class 111 tank cars built to the newer CPC-1232 standard. Although this standard requires the cars to have additional protective equipment, the TSB determined that the speed of the train had a direct impact on the severity of the tank-car damage. Additionally, the lack of thermal protection contributed to thermal tears in those cars located in the pool fire, which led to additional product release. Consequently, the cars displayed similar performance issues as in the Lac-Mégantic derailment.

"The Transportation of flammable liquids by rail has been on the TSB Watchlist since 2014," said Chair Fox. "While stronger tank cars are being built, the current ones will be in service for years to come. The risks will also remain until all of the factors leading to derailments and contributing to their severity are mitigated. This is the focus of the recommendation we issued today."

See the investigation page for more information.


The TSB is an independent agency that investigates marine, pipeline, railway and aviation transportation occurrences. Its sole aim is the advancement of transportation safety. It is not the function of the Board to assign fault or determine civil or criminal liability.

For more information, contact:
Transportation Safety Board of Canada
Media Relations
Telephone: 819-994-8053
Email: media@tsb.gc.ca

Communiqué de presse

À la suite de son enquête sur un accident survenu près de Gogama (Ontario) en février 2015, le BST demande des stratégies d’atténuation de la gravité des déraillements des trains de marchandises dangereuses

Sudbury (Ontario), le 16 février 2017 — Le Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) a publié aujourd'hui la recommandation R17-01 qui demande à Transports Canada (TC) d'élaborer des stratégies pour atténuer la gravité des déraillements des trains qui transportent des marchandises dangereuses. Le Bureau a émis cette recommandation dans le cadre de son enquête (R15H0013) sur le déraillement en février 2015 d'un train-bloc de pétrole brut du Canadien National (CN) près de Gogama (Ontario) et sur l'incendie en résultant.

Le 14 février 2015, un train-bloc du CN remorquant 100 wagons de pétrole brut a déraillé. Il roulait à 38 mi/h, soit sous la vitesse maximale alors permise de 40 mi/h. Au total, 29 wagons-citernes de pétrole brut ont déraillé, et 19 ont subi des brèches, rejetant 1,7 million de litres de produit. Le pétrole brut s'est enflammé, allumant des incendies qui ont brûlé pendant 5 jours. Il n'y a eu aucun blessé.

« Cet accident s'est produit à une vitesse inférieure à la vitesse maximale permise dans le Règlement relatif aux trains et aux itinéraires clés de Transports Canada, a expliqué Kathy Fox, présidente du BST. Le BST est préoccupé par le fait que les limites de vitesse actuelles ne soient pas assez sévères pour certains trains – notamment les trains-blocs qui transportent des liquides inflammables. C'est pourquoi nous recommandons que Transports Canada étudie tous les facteurs, y compris la vitesse, qui exacerbent les déraillements des trains de marchandises dangereuses, élabore des stratégies d'atténuation des risques, puis modifie les règles en conséquence. »

L'enquête a démontré que la rupture d'éclisses est à l'origine du déraillement. Des fissures de fatigue préexistantes dans les éclisses étaient passées inaperçues durant des inspections antérieures. Les fissures, qui avaient atteint une taille critique, le froid (il faisait −31 °C lors du déraillement) et les chocs répétés des roues ont entraîné la défaillance des éclisses. Le superviseur adjoint de la voie n'a pas pu détecter les défauts compte tenu d'une formation, d'un encadrement et d'un soutien insuffisants.

Les wagons du train étaient de catégorie 111 et avaient été construits conformément à la nouvelle norme CPC-1232. Quoique cette norme exige que les wagons soient dotés de plus de structures de protection, le BST a établi que la vitesse du train a directement influé sur la gravité des dommages causés aux wagons-citernes. De plus, l'insuffisance de protection thermique a contribué à la naissance de ruptures thermiques sur les wagons qui se trouvaient dans le feu en nappe, augmentant le déversement de produit. En fin de compte, les wagons ont connu des problèmes de performance semblables à ceux impliqués dans le déraillement à Lac-Mégantic.

« Le transport de liquides inflammables par rail figure sur la Liste de surveillance du BST depuis 2014, a ajouté madame Fox. Bien que des wagons-citernes plus robustes soient maintenant fabriqués, les wagons actuels demeureront en service durant des années. Les risques seront présents tant que les facteurs qui contribuent aux déraillements et à leur gravité ne seront pas atténués. Voilà l'objectif de la recommandation que nous présentons aujourd'hui. »

Voir la page d'enquête pour plus d'information.


Le BST est un organisme indépendant qui mène des enquêtes sur des événements maritimes, de pipeline, ferroviaires et aéronautiques. Son seul but est de promouvoir la sécurité des transports. Le Bureau n'est pas habilité à attribuer ni à déterminer les responsabilités civiles ou pénales.

Pour de plus amples renseignements :
Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada
Relations avec les médias
Téléphone: 819–994–8053
Courriel: medias@bst.gc.ca