News release

Human intervention likely led to October 2015 uncontrolled movement and derailment of parked rail cars in Montréal, Quebec

Dorval, Quebec, 22 February 2017 –  Following the October 2015 uncontrolled movement and derailment of a parked cut of rail cars (a group of cars coupled together) on a non-main track in Montréal, Quebec, the Transportation Safety Board of Canada (TSB) today released its investigation report (R15D0103), citing that human intervention likely put the rail cars in motion.

On 29 October 2015, a cut of 26 empty intermodal cars, which had been previously secured on a storage track near the Canadian Pacific Railway (CP) Hochelaga Yard in Montréal started to roll. The cars rolled uncontrolled about 120 feet before striking a hinged derail. The derail, a mechanical device designed to stop uncontrolled rolling stock and equipment by derailing it, derailed only the first car before getting torn from the track. The remaining cars continued to descend the grade, reaching a second derail located approximately 400 feet further, which led to the derailment of the following four cars. Meanwhile, the first derailed car traveled over an embankment and struck a residential property. The occupants of this property, as well as those of six nearby homes, were evacuated. The residential property, the cars and the track sustained damage. No dangerous goods were involved, and there were no injuries.

The cut of cars had not moved since it was stored in May 2015. Since there had been no reports of extreme weather in the region, and that handbrake effectiveness does not generally degrade over time, the investigation determined that a human intervention had likely reduced the braking force, allowing gravity to set the cars in motion. Despite heightened surveillance in the area, railway personnel had been encountering trespassers regularly along the tracks where the cars were stored. However, the railway did not identify this condition as a hazard when choosing to store cars at this location, and no special inspections of the cars were being conducted.

In Canada, between 2006 and 2015, 397 occurrences involving uncontrolled movements of rolling stock or equipment were reported to the TSB, and about 8% of these occurrences were caused by human intervention. Because it is relatively simple to release the handbrake mechanism on a rail car, stored rail cars are vulnerable to tampering by unauthorized persons. If measures to prevent tampering with hand brakes on cars stored in areas frequented by trespassers are not taken, there is an increased risk that rolling stock will move uncontrolled. The Board has previously issued a recommendation for the requirement of fencing along the railway right-of-way in areas where there are frequent pedestrian incursions (R91-01).

Following the occurrence, CP took a number of additional measures to eliminate trespassing at this location.

See the investigation page for more information.


The TSB is an independent agency that investigates marine, pipeline, railway and aviation transportation occurrences. Its sole aim is the advancement of transportation safety. It is not the function of the Board to assign fault or determine civil or criminal liability.

For more information, contact:
Transportation Safety Board of Canada
Media Relations
Telephone: 819-994-8053
Email: media@tsb.gc.ca

Communiqué de presse

Une intervention humaine a probablement mené au mouvement non contrôlé et au déraillement de wagons garés à Montréal (Québec), en octobre 2015

Dorval (Québec), le 22 février 2017 — À la suite du mouvement non contrôlé et du déraillement en octobre 2015 d'une rame de wagons (un lot de wagons attelés ensemble) garée sur une voie non principale à Montréal (Québec), le Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) a publié aujourd'hui son rapport d'enquête (R15D0103), qui indique qu'une intervention humaine a probablement causé le mouvement des wagons.

Le 29 octobre 2015, une rame de 26 wagons intermodaux vides, qui était garée sur une voie d'entreposage près du triage Hochelagadu Chemin de fer Canadien Pacifique (CP) à Montréal, est partie à la dérive. La rame a roulé sur environ 120 pieds avant de passer sur un dérailleur à charnière qui a fait dérailler seulement le premier wagon avant d'être arraché de la voie. Les dérailleurs sont des dispositifs mécaniques conçus pour arrêter les wagons et le matériel roulant qui partent à la dérive en les faisant dérailler. Les autres wagons ont continué à descendre la pente jusqu'à un deuxième dérailleur situé environ 400 pieds plus loin, causant le déraillement des quatre wagons suivants. Pendant ce temps, le premier wagon déraillé est passé par-dessus un talus, et a heurté une propriété privée. Les occupants de cette propriété ainsi que ceux de six résidences à proximité ont été évacués. La propriété privée, les wagons et la voie ont été endommagés. Aucune marchandise dangereuse n'était en cause et personne n'a été blessé.

La rame de wagons n'avait pas été déplacée depuis son entreposage en mai 2015. Compte tenu de l'absence de rapport d'événement météorologique exceptionnel dans la région et du fait que l'efficacité des freins à main ne se dégrade généralement pas avec le temps, l'enquête a établi qu'une intervention humaine a probablement réduit l'effort de freinage, laissant la gravité provoquer le mouvement des wagons. Malgré une surveillance accrue dans cette zone, les membres du personnel ferroviaire croisaient régulièrement des intrus le long de la voie où étaient garés les wagons. La compagnie ferroviaire n'a toutefois pas considéré cette présence d'intrus comme un danger lorsqu'elle a choisi d'immobiliser les wagons à cet endroit et n'a réalisé aucune inspection particulière sur lesdits wagons.

Au Canada, entre 2006 et 2015, 397 événements mettant en cause des wagons ou du matériel roulant partis à la dérive ont été signalés au BST. Environ 8 % de ces événements ont été causés par une intervention humaine. Comme il est relativement simple de desserrer les freins à main des wagons, ces derniers sont vulnérables aux manipulations par des personnes non autorisées lorsqu'ils sont immobilisés. En l'absence de mesures pour prévenir l'altération des freins à main des wagons garés dans des zones où les intrusions sont fréquentes, le risque que du matériel roulant parte à la dérive est plus élevé. Le Bureau a déjà émis une recommandation demandant des exigences relatives à l'installation de clôtures le long des emprises des chemins de fer aux endroits où de fréquentes incursions de piétons sont connues (R91-01).

À la suite de l'événement, le CP a pris plusieurs mesures supplémentaires pour éliminer les intrusions à cet endroit.

Voir la page d'enquête pour plus d'information.


Le BST est un organisme indépendant qui mène des enquêtes sur des événements maritimes, de pipeline, ferroviaires et aéronautiques. Son seul but est de promouvoir la sécurité des transports. Le Bureau n'est pas habilité à attribuer ni à déterminer les responsabilités civiles ou pénales.

Pour de plus amples renseignements :
Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada
Relations avec les médias
Téléphone: 819–994–8053
Courriel: medias@bst.gc.ca