News release

TSB 2016-17 Annual Report to Parliament features investigation highlights, statistics, and status of Board recommendations

Gatineau, Quebec, 20 July 2017 – Tabled in Parliament yesterday, the Transportation Safety Board of Canada's (TSB) 2016-17 Annual Report highlights the TSB's major achievements and the work it has done to advance transportation safety on Canada's waterways, along its pipelines and railways, and in the sky in the last year.

In 2016-17, the TSB published 44 investigation reports and issued a total of 20 recommendations in the Marine, Rail, and Aviation sectors. Watchlist 2016 was released with two new safety issues and was featured prominently through a proactive outreach campaign. The annual report provides a substantive update on Watchlist issues and related activities.

Initiatives of particular interest are the first-ever multi-modal TSB Transportation Safety Summit and the completion of the Railway Safety Issues Investigation Report: Expanding the use of locomotive voice and video recorders in Canada. The Safety Summit, held in April 2016, brought together senior Canadian transportation executives from government and the transportation industry, along with some of their labour organizations, to share best practices—notably for capturing and using safety data in a proactive, non-punitive way—and to identify ways of strengthening organizational safety culture and safety management. The railway safety report, released in September 2016, also involved the participation of key railway stakeholders. It reviewed some best practices, identified and evaluated implementation issues, examined potential safety benefits of the expanded use of on-board recorders, and collected background information for the development of an action plan to implement locomotive voice and video recorders. It also served as a foundation for legislative changes recently tabled in Parliament.

On a less positive note, the reassessment of 69 outstanding recommendations still requiring government and industry action showed little progress. The response to only one of these outstanding recommendations has been upgraded to Fully Satisfactory, the TSB's highest rating. Of the other 68 recommendations, nine were reassessed with a higher rating because of positive information received from the change agents, five received a lower rating due to a lack of progress, and the status the other 54 has not changed at all.

"We remain determined to continue to push for action where we feel more can be done to make the transportation system, and by extension all Canadians, safer still," says Chair Fox. "Our activities build on over a quarter-century of cutting edge investigative work, solid reporting, and advocating for safety. It may be hard to quantify in concrete terms the impact that our work has. That is because the effect is cumulative. But year after year, we see a steady trend in declining accident rates and we are heartened by that," she added.


The TSB is an independent agency that investigates marine, pipeline, railway and aviation transportation occurrences. Its sole aim is the advancement of transportation safety. It is not the function of the Board to assign fault or determine civil or criminal liability.

For more information, contact:
Transportation Safety Board of Canada
Media Relations
Telephone: 819-994-8053
Email: media@tsb.gc.ca

Communiqué de presse

Le Rapport annuel 2016-2017 au Parlement du BST comprend des faits saillants d'enquêtes, des statistiques et l'état des recommandations du Bureau

Gatineau (Québec), le 20 juillet 2017 – Le Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) a déposé son Rapport annuel 2016-2017 au Parlement hier. Il souligne les principales réalisations du BST et le travail qu'il a accompli au cours de la dernière année pour promouvoir la sécurité des transports sur les voies navigables, le long des pipelines et des voies ferrées et dans l'espace aérien.

En 2016-2017, le BST a publié 44 rapports d'enquête et formulé en tout 20 recommandations pour les secteurs maritime, ferroviaire et aéronautique. Le Bureau a publié la Liste de surveillance 2016, qui comprend deux nouveaux enjeux de sécurité et qui a été au cœur d'une campagne de sensibilisation proactive. Le rapport annuel fait le point en détail sur les enjeux de la Liste de surveillance et les activités connexes.

Parmi les initiatives qui retiennent l'attention, mentionnons le tout premier sommet multisectoriel sur la sécurité des transports du BST et l'achèvement du rapport d'enquête sur des questions de sécurité ferroviaire intitulé « Accroître l'usage d'enregistreurs audio-vidéo de locomotive au Canada ». Tenu en avril 2016, ce sommet a réuni des hauts dirigeants en transport du Canada représentant le gouvernement et le secteur des transports, ainsi que certains de leurs syndicats. L'objectif était de mettre en commun leurs pratiques exemplaires, notamment en matière de collecte des données de sécurité et de leur utilisation à des fins proactives et non punitives, ainsi que de cerner des moyens de renforcer la culture de sécurité organisationnelle et la gestion de la sécurité. Publié en septembre 2016, le rapport sur les questions de sécurité ferroviaire a aussi bénéficié de la participation d'intervenants clés du secteur ferroviaire. Il a examiné certaines pratiques exemplaires, a cerné et évalué des problèmes liés à leur mise en œuvre, a examiné les avantages potentiels en matière de sécurité liés à l'utilisation élargie des enregistreurs de bord, et a recueilli l'information contextuelle nécessaire à l'établissement d'un plan d'action pour mettre en place les enregistreurs audio-vidéo de locomotive. Il a également servi de fondement aux modifications législatives déposées récemment au Parlement.

Sur une note moins positive, notons le peu de progrès constatés lors de la réévaluation de 69 recommandations en suspens, qui attendent toujours une intervention du gouvernement et de l'industrie. La réponse à une seule de ces recommandations est maintenant jugée « entièrement satisfaisante », la cote la plus élevée du BST. Des 68 recommandations restantes, neuf ont reçu une cote supérieure par suite de l'obtention d'information positive des agents de changement; cinq ont reçu une cote inférieure étant donné l'absence de progrès; et la cote des 54 autres n'a pas changé du tout.

« Nous sommes déterminés à continuer d'insister pour que des mesures soient prises là où nous pensons qu'il est possible d'accroître la sécurité du réseau de transport, et par là même, celle des Canadiens et Canadiennes, a dit Kathy Fox, présidente du BST. Nos activités s'appuient sur plus d'un quart de siècle d'enquêtes de pointe, d'établissement de rapports solides et de promotion de la sécurité. Il peut être difficile de quantifier concrètement les répercussions de nos travaux, parce que leur effet est cumulatif. Toutefois, année après année, nous constatons une baisse constante du taux d'accidents, et cela nous réconforte », conclut-elle.


Le BST est un organisme indépendant qui mène des enquêtes sur des événements maritimes, de pipeline, ferroviaires et aéronautiques. Son seul but est de promouvoir la sécurité des transports. Le Bureau n'est pas habilité à attribuer ni à déterminer les responsabilités civiles ou pénales.

Pour de plus amples renseignements :
Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada
Relations avec les médias
Téléphone: 819–994–8053
Courriel: medias@bst.gc.ca