Railway Investigation R15V0191

Railway crossing accident in Langley, British Columbia

The occurrence

On 11 September 2015, a northbound Canadian National (CN) train struck an ambulance travelling eastbound at the Crush Crescent–Glover Road, located at Mile 18.81 of the Canadian Pacific (CP) Page Subdivision in Langley, British Columbia. The occupants of the ambulance were two paramedics (one driving and one attending the patient) and one patient. The paramedics sustained injuries and the patient later succumbed to injuries sustained during the collision. The members of the train crew were not injured.

Map of the area

Investigator-in-charge

Photo of Peter Hickli

Peter Hickli has been with the Transportation Safety Board of Canada (TSB) since 2006. He holds the position of Senior Regional Investigator Rail/Pipeline in Vancouver, British Columbia. He has been investigator-in-charge of several rail accident investigations, and has provided technical expertise on several other investigations as an investigation team member.

Before joining the TSB, Mr. Hickli worked for BC Rail/CN for 30 years, during which time he served a 4-year carman apprenticeship, and worked extensively in the Mechanical Department in unionized and management positions. A hazardous materials technician and advanced tank car specialist, he was also a member of the Derailment investigation team and the Hazmat team.

Photos

See more high resolution pictures on the TSB Flickr page.

TSB investigation process

There are 3 phases to a TSB investigation
  1. Field phase: a team of investigators examines the occurrence site and wreckage, interviews witnesses and collects pertinent information.
  2. Examination and analysis phase: the TSB reviews pertinent records, tests components of the wreckage in the lab, determines the sequence of events and identifies safety deficiencies. When safety deficiencies are suspected or confirmed, the TSB advises the appropriate authority without waiting until publication of the final report.
  3. Report phase: a confidential draft report is approved by the Board and sent to persons and corporations who are directly concerned by the report. They then have the opportunity to dispute or correct information they believe to be incorrect. The Board considers all representations before approving the final report, which is subsequently released to the public.

For more information, see our Investigation process page.

The TSB is an independent agency that investigates marine, pipeline, railway and aviation transportation occurrences. Its sole aim is the advancement of transportation safety. It is not the function of the Board to assign fault or determine civil or criminal liability.

Report

Final report
2017-07-13

Railway Investigation Report R15V0191
Grade crossing collision
Canadian National Railway Company
Langley, British Columbia
11 September 2015

Safety communications

Rail safety advisory
2016-03-17

Rail safety advisory letter 06/17: Jurisdictional responsibility for roadway markings at Crush Crescent – Glover Road crossing in Langley, BC
Read the Rail safety advisory

2017-05-10

Rail safety advisory letter 07/16: Crossing Safety at Crush Crescent / Glover Road in Langley, BC
Read the Rail safety advisory

Media materials

Media advisories
2017-07-11

TSB to hold a news conference to release its investigation report into a 2015 fatal railway crossing accident in Langley, British Columbia
Read the media advisory

News releases
2017-07-13

Complexity of the railway crossing and driver distraction led to 2015 fatal railway crossing accident in Langley, British Columbia
Read the news release

2016-04-18

Update on TSB investigation into 11 September 2015 fatal railway crossing collision in Langley, British Columbia
Read the news release

Speeches and presentations
2017-07-12

News conference for the release of Railway Investigation Report R15V0191: Opening remarks
Read the remarks

Deployment notice
2015-09-14

TSB investigating crossing accident in Langley, British Columbia
Read the deployment notice

Enquête ferroviaire R15V0191

Accident à un passage à niveau à Langley (Colombie-Britannique)

L'événement

Le 11 septembre 2015, un train du Canadien National (CN) se dirigeant vers le nord a heurté une ambulance roulant vers l’est, au passage à niveau de l’intersection Crush Crescent–Glover Road au mille 18,81 de la subdivision Page du Canadien Pacifique (CP) à Langley (Colombie-Britannique). Il y avait à bord de l’ambulance deux techniciens ambulanciers paramédicaux, dont l’un au volant, et l’autre à l’arrière prenant soin d’un patient. Les techniciens ambulanciers paramédicaux ont subi des blessures et le patient a succombé plus tard aux blessures subies lors de la collision. Les membres de l’équipe de train n’ont pas été blessés.

Carte de la région

Enquêteur désigné

Image de Peter Hickli

Peter Hickli travaille pour le Bureau de la sécurité des transports depuis 2006. Il occupe le poste d'enquêteur principal (Rail et Pipeline) dans la région de Vancouver (Colombie-Britannique). Depuis son arrivée au BST, il a été l'enquêteur désigné pour plusieurs enquêtes ferroviaires et il a fait partie de l'équipe responsable des expertises techniques dans le cadre de nombreuses autres enquêtes.

Avant d'entrer au BST, M. Hickli a travaillé pour BC Rail/CN pendant 30 ans. Au cours de cette période, il a suivi une formation d'apprenti wagonnier de 4 ans et travaillé de nombreuses années au service de mécanique comme employé et cadre. Il a aussi fait partie de l'équipe d'enquête sur les déraillements et de l'équipe d'intervention en matières dangereuses en tant que technicien en matières dangereuses et spécialiste des des wagons-citernes de niveau avancé.

Photos

Icone du site Flickr

Voir des images en haute résolution sur la page Flickr du BST.

Les enquêtes du BST se déroulent en 3 étapes
  1. L'étape du travail sur le terrain : une équipe d'enquêteurs examine le lieu de l'événement et l'épave, interviewe les témoins et recueille toute l'information pertinente.
  2. L'étape d'examen et d'analyse : le BST examine toute la documentation liée au dossier, effectue des tests en laboratoire sur des composantes de l'épave, établit la chronologie des événements et identifie toute lacune en matière de sécurité. Lorsque le BST soupçonne ou constate des lacunes en matière de sécurité, il en informe sans tarder les organismes concernés sans attendre la parution du rapport final.
  3. L'étape du production du rapport : une version confidentielle du rapport est approuvée par le Bureau et envoyée aux personnes et organismes qui sont directement touchés par le rapport. Ceux-ci ont l'occasion de contester ou de corriger l'information qu'elles jugent erronée. Le Bureau considère toutes les observations fournies avant d'approuver la version définitive du rapport, qui est ensuite publiée.

Vous trouverez de plus amples détails à la page sur le Déroulement des enquêtes.

Le BST est un organisme indépendant qui mène des enquêtes sur des événements maritimes, de pipeline, ferroviaires et aéronautiques. Son seul but est de promouvoir la sécurité des transports. Le Bureau n'est pas habilité à attribuer ni à déterminer les responsabilités civiles ou pénales.

Rapport

Rapport final
2017-07-13

Rapport d'enquête ferroviaire R15V0191
Collision à un passage à niveau
Compagnie des chemins de fer nationaux du Canada
Langley (Colombie-Britannique)
le 11 septembre 2015

Communications en matière de sécurité

Avis de sécurité ferroviaire
2017-05-10

Avis de sécurité ferroviaire – 07/16 : Sécurité du passage à niveau à l'intersection Crush Crescent et Glover Road à Langley (Colombie-Britannique)
Lire l'avis de sécurité ferroviaire

2016-03-17

Avis de sécurité ferroviaire – 06/17 : Secteurs de compétence relatifs aux marquages sur la chaussée au passage à niveau Crush Crescent et Glover Road à Langley (Colombie-Britannique)
Lire l'avis de sécurité ferroviaire

Ressources pour les médias

Avis aux médias
2017-07-11

Le BST tiendra une conférence de presse pour rendre public son rapport d'enquête sur l'accident mortel survenu à un passage à niveau ferroviaire en 2015 à Langley (Colombie-Britannique)
Lire l'avis aux médias

Communiqués
2017-07-13

La complexité du passage à niveau ferroviaire et la distraction du conducteur ont mené à un accident mortel à un passage à niveau à Langley (Colombie-Britannique) en 2015
Lire le communiqué

2016-04-18

Mise–à jour sur l'enquête sur la collision mortelle à un passage à niveau survenue le 11 septembre 2015 à Langley (Colombie-Britannique)
Lire le communiqué

Discours et présentations
2017-07-13

Publication du rapport d'enquête ferroviaire R15V0191 - Mot d'ouverture
Lire le discours

Avis de déploiement
2015-09-148

Le BST mènera une enquête sur l'accident à un passage à niveau survenu à Langley (Colombie-Britannique)
Lire l'avis de déploiement