Marine investigation M16C0016

Flooding

The occurrence

On 21 February 2016, the fishing vessel Saputi struck ice in the Davis Strait area and reported undetermined water ingress in the cargo hold. The heavily listed vessel proceeded to Nuuk, Greenland, under its own power with a Danish naval vessel standing by. No pollution or injuries were reported.

Map of the area

Investigator-in-charge

Photo of Shannon Pittman

Shannon Pittman has been employed as an investigator with the Transportation Safety Board of Canada (TSB) since 2014. Prior to joining TSB, Mr. Pittman spent 20 years with the Canadian Coast Guard operating on Canada’s Atlantic coast and throughout the Arctic on search and rescue, icebreaking, buoy tending, and science research vessels. Mr. Pittman holds a Master Mariner certificate as well as a Bachelor of Technology–Nautical Science from the Canadian Coast Guard College/University College of Cape Breton in Sydney, Nova Scotia.

Photos

Click on the images to see them in full size.

Download high resolution copies of these pictures from the TSB Flickr page.

Transportation Safety Board investigation process

There are 3 phases to a TSB investigation:

  1. Field phase: a team of investigators examines the occurrence site and wreckage, interviews witnesses and collects pertinent information.
  2. Examination and analysis phase: the TSB reviews pertinent records, tests components of the wreckage in the lab, determines the sequence of events and identifies safety deficiencies. When safety deficiencies are suspected or confirmed, the TSB advises the appropriate authority without waiting until publication of the final report.
  3. Report phase: a confidential draft report is approved by the Board and sent to persons and corporations who are directly concerned by the report. They then have the opportunity to dispute or correct information they believe to be incorrect. The Board considers all representations before approving the final report, which is subsequently released to the public.

For more information, see our Investigation process page.

Enquête maritime M16C0016

Inondation

L'événement

Le 21 février 2016, le navire de pêche Saputi a heurté la glace dans la région du détroit de Davis et fait état d’une infiltration d’eau de source indéterminée dans la cale. Le navire, qui gîtait fortement, s’est dirigé vers Nuuk (Groenland) par ses propres moyens, avec un navire de la marine Danoise à ses côtés. Il n’y a pas eu de blessures ni de pollution.

Carte de la région

Enquêteur désigné

Photo de Shannon Pittman

Shannon Pittman est enquêteur du Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) depuis 2014. Avant de se joindre BST, M. Pittman a passé 20 ans au service de la Garde côtière canadienne, travaillant sur la côte atlantique du Canada et dans l’Arctique à bord de navires de recherche et sauvetage, de déglaçage, de mouillage de bouées et de recherche scientifique. M. Pittman est titulaire d’un brevet de capitaine, ainsi que d’un baccalauréat en technologie – Sciences nautiques du Collège de la Garde côtière canadienne / Collège universitaire du Cap-Breton à Sydney (Nouvelle-Écosse).

Photos

Cliquez sur les images pour les voir en taille complet.

Icone du site Flickr

Voir des images en haute résolution sur la page Flickr du BST.

Processus d'enquête du BST

Une enquête du BST se déroule en 3 étapes :

  1. L'étape du travail sur le terrain : une équipe d'enquêteurs examine le lieu de l'événement et l'épave, interviewe les témoins et recueille toute l'information pertinente.
  2. L'étape d'examen et d'analyse : le BST examine toute la documentation liée au dossier, effectue des tests en laboratoire sur des composantes de l'épave, établit la chronologie des événements et identifie toute lacune en matière de sécurité. Lorsque le BST soupçonne ou constate des lacunes en matière de sécurité, il en informe sans tarder les organismes concernés sans attendre la parution du rapport final.
  3. L'étape de production du rapport : une version confidentielle du rapport est approuvée par le Bureau et envoyée aux personnes et organismes qui sont directement touchés par le rapport. Ceux-ci ont l'occasion de contester ou de corriger l'information qu'ils jugent erronée. Le Bureau tient compte de toutes les observations fournies avant d'approuver la version définitive du rapport, qui est ensuite publiée.

Vous trouverez de plus amples détails à la page sur le Déroulement des enquêtes.