Aviation Investigation A15Q0075

Runway excursion

The occurrence

On 5 June 2015, a Boeing 737-600, operated by WestJet as WJA588, with 5 crew members and 107 passengers was on a flight from Toronto, Ontario (Lester B. Pearson International Airport) for Montréal, Quebec (Pierre Elliott Trudeau International Airport). Upon landing on runway 24L, in heavy rain, the aircraft left the end of the runway and stopped in the grass approximately 200 feet past the threshold. No one was injured and all were able to deplane from the right hand front door using a portable staircase.

Map of the area

Investigator-in-Charge

Photo of Jean-Marc Ledoux

Mr. Ledoux has 35 years of civil aviation experience. He joined the Transportation Safety Board (TSB) in April 1999 as an investigator in the Air Investigations Branch, in Dorval, Quebec, and has been the regional manager for the Quebec region since 2003. He has been the investigator-in-charge on several aviation investigations.

Mr. Ledoux worked as an airline pilot for different Canadian carriers, accumulating more than 15 000 flight hours in a wide variety of operations around the world. He flew different aircraft types, from small training aircraft to larger commuter aircraft, eventually piloting large jet aircraft such as, DC8, L1011, B747, and Airbus 310. He also holds a helicopter pilot license. Before joining the TSB, Mr. Ledoux worked at Transport Canada as inspector in the enforcement department.

Since joining the TSB, Mr. Ledoux has participated in several TSB investigations, and has also assisted numerous foreign investigation agencies in their investigations of accidents abroad. He is also a team member of the Universal Safety Oversight Audit Program (USOAP) with the International Civil Aviation Organization (ICAO).

Photos

Select image to see it in full size.

Transportation Safety Board investigation process

There are 3 phases to a TSB investigation:

  1. Field phase: a team of investigators examines the occurrence site and wreckage, interviews witnesses and collects pertinent information.
  2. Examination and analysis phase: the TSB reviews pertinent records, tests components of the wreckage in the lab, determines the sequence of events and identifies safety deficiencies. When safety deficiencies are suspected or confirmed, the TSB advises the appropriate authority without waiting until publication of the final report.
  3. Report phase: a confidential draft report is approved by the Board and sent to persons and corporations who are directly concerned by the report. They then have the opportunity to dispute or correct information they believe to be incorrect. The Board considers all representations before approving the final report, which is subsequently released to the public.

For more information, see our Investigation process page.


Media

Deployment notices
 
2015-06-05

TSB deploys team to the site of an aircraft accident at Pierre Elliot Trudeau International Airport at Montreal, Quebec
Read the deployment notice

Enquête aéronautique A15Q0075

Sortie de piste

L'événement

Le 5 juin 2015, un Boeing 737-600, exploité par WestJet sous l'indicatif WJA588, avec à son bord 5 membres d’équipage et 107 passagers, effectuait un vol de Toronto (Ontario) [Aéroport international Lester B. Pearson] à destination de Montréal (Québec) [aéroport international Pierre-Elliott-Trudeau]. Suite à l'atterrissage sur la piste 24L, pendant une averse de pluie forte, l'appareil a fait une sortie en bout de piste et a terminé sa course dans le gazon à environ 200 pieds au-delà du seuil. Personne n'a été blessé et tous les occupants ont pu descendre de l'appareil par un escalier portable placé à la porte avant droite.

Carte de la région

Enquêteur désigné

Photo de Jean-Marc Ledoux

M. Ledoux possède 35 ans d'expérience en aviation civile. En avril 1999, il s'est joint à l'équipe de la Direction des enquêtes (Air) du Bureau de la sécurité des transports (BST) à Dorval (Québec) à titre d'enquêteur. Depuis 2003, il occupe le poste de gestionnaire régional du Québec. Il a agi à titre d'enquêteur désigné dans plusieurs enquêtes aéronautiques.

Au cours de sa carrière, M. Ledoux a travaillé en tant que pilote de ligne au service de différents transporteurs aériens canadiens. Il totalise plus de 15 000 heures de vol effectuées un peu partout à travers le monde. Il a piloté divers types d'aéronefs, des petits aéronefs d'entraînement aux avions de transport régional, pour enfin piloter des grands avions à réaction comme le DC8, le L1011, le B747 et l'Airbus 310. Il est également titulaire d'une licence de pilote d'hélicoptère. Avant de se joindre au BST, M. Ledoux a travaillé à Transports Canada à titre d'inspecteur à l'application de la loi.

Depuis qu'il s'est joint au BST, M. Ledoux a participé à plusieurs enquêtes du BST et a aussi assisté divers organismes d'enquête étrangers dans leurs enquêtes sur des accidents survenus à l'étranger. M. Ledoux est également membre de l'équipe du Programme universel d'audits de la supervision de la sécurité (USOAP) de l'Organisation de l'aviation civile internationale (OACI).

Photos

Icone du site Flickr

Voir des images en haute résolution sur la page Flickr du BST.

Processus d'enquête du BST

Une enquête du BST se déroule en 3 étapes :

  1. L'étape du travail sur le terrain : une équipe d'enquêteurs examine le lieu de l'événement et l'épave, interviewe les témoins et recueille toute l'information pertinente.
  2. L'étape d'examen et d'analyse : le BST examine toute la documentation liée au dossier, effectue des tests en laboratoire sur des composantes de l'épave, établit la chronologie des événements et identifie toute lacune en matière de sécurité. Lorsque le BST soupçonne ou constate des lacunes en matière de sécurité, il en informe sans tarder les organismes concernés sans attendre la parution du rapport final.
  3. L'étape de production du rapport : une version confidentielle du rapport est approuvée par le Bureau et envoyée aux personnes et organismes qui sont directement touchés par le rapport. Ceux-ci ont l'occasion de contester ou de corriger l'information qu'ils jugent erronée. Le Bureau tient compte de toutes les observations fournies avant d'approuver la version définitive du rapport, qui est ensuite publiée.

Vous trouverez de plus amples détails à la page sur le Déroulement des enquêtes.


Médias

Avis de déploiement
 
2015-06-05

Le BST envoie une équipe sur le site d'un accident d'avion à l'aéroport internationale Pierre Elliot Trudeau à Montréal (Québec)
Lire l'avis de déploiement